SENATE REPUBLICAN AND DEMOCRATIC LEADERS 1968-PRESENT

| y ear/ |
|--------|
| I Cai |

| Year/ <u>Majority Party</u> | Republican Leader | Democratic Leader |
|--------------------------------|--|---|
| 1968-1970 Democratic | C.W. "Bill" Young, District 19 | None |
| 1970-1972 Democratic | Warren S. Henderson, District 32 | None |
| 1972-1974 Democratic | David C. Lane, District 31 | None |
| 1974-1976 Democratic | John T. Ware, District 18 | None |
| 1976-1978 Democratic | Kenneth A. Plante, District 14 | None |
| 1978-1980 Democratic | John T. Ware, District 18 | None |
| 1980-1982 Democratic | James A. Scott, District 31 | Sherrill N. "Pete" Skinner, District 5 |
| 1982-1984 Democratic | Clark Maxwell, Jr., District 16 Toni Jennings, District 15 ¹ | John A. Hill, District 33 |
| 1984-1986 Democratic | Richard H. Langley, District 11 | Lawrence H. "Larry" Plummer, District 39 |
| 1986-1988 Democratic | Toni Jennings, District 15 | None |
| 1988-1990 Democratic | William G. "Doc" Myers, District 27 | Jack D. Gordon, District 35 Peter M. Weinstein, District 29 ² |
| 1990-1992 Democratic | Ander Crenshaw, District 8 | Peter M. Weinstein, District 29 |
| 1992-1994 Split Party | William G. "Bill" Bankhead, District 8 | Pat Thomas, District 3 Ronald A. Silver ³ |

¹ Clark Maxwell Jr. resigned and was elected Executive Director of the State Board of Community Colleges. Toni Jennings was designated in April 1984.

² Jack D. Gordon resigned and Peter M. Weinstein was designated Democratic Leader on May 9, 1990.

³ Ronald A. Silver designated after Pat Thomas was sworn in as President on October 12, 1993, pursuant to SR 2-Org., 1992.

SENATE REPUBLICAN AND DEMOCRATIC LEADERS 1968-PRESENT

| Year/ <u>Majority Party</u> | Republican Leader | Democratic Leader |
|--------------------------------|--|---|
| 1994-1996 Republican | William G. "Doc" Myers, District 27 | Kenneth C. Jenne II, District 29 |
| 1996-1998 Republican | Locke Burt, District 16 | Kenneth C. Jenne II, District 29 John H. "Buddy" Dyer, Jr., District 14 ⁴ |
| 1998-2000 Republican | Jack Latvala, District 19 | John H. "Buddy" Dyer, District 14 |
| 2000-2002 Republican | James E. "Jim" King, Jr., District 8 | Tom Rossin, District 35 |
| 2002-2004 Republican | Dennis L. Jones, D.C., District 13 | Ron Klein, District 30 |
| 2004-2006 Republican | J. Alex Villalobos, District 38 Daniel Webster, District 9 ⁵ | Leslie "Les" Miller, Jr., District 18 |
| 2006-2008 Republican | Daniel Webster, District 9 | Steven A. Geller, District 31 |
| 2008-2010 Republican | Alex Diaz de la Portilla, District 36 | Alfred "Al" Lawson, Jr., District 6 |
| 2010-2012 Republican | Andy Gardiner, District 9 | Nan H. Rich, District 34 |
| 2012-2014 Republican | Lizbeth Benacquisto, District 30 | Christopher L. Smith, District 31 |
| 2014-2016 Republican | Bill Galvano, District 26 | Arthenia L. Joyner, District 19 |
| 2016-2018 Republican | Wilton Simpson, District 10 | Oscar Braynon II, District 35 |
| 2018-2020 Republican | Kathleen Passidomo, District 28 | Audrey Gibson, District 6 |

_

⁴ Governor Lawton Chiles selected Kenneth Jenne to become Broward County Sheriff. Buddy Dyer was designated as Democratic Leader on January 21, 1998.

⁵ J. Alex Villalobos resigned on May 1, 2006, and Daniel Webster was designated as Republican Leader on May 2, 2006.

SENATE REPUBLICAN AND DEMOCRATIC LEADERS 1968-PRESENT

| Majority Party | Republican Leader | Democratic Leader |
|-------------------------|------------------------------|---|
| 2020-2022 Republican | Debbie Mayfield, District 17 | Gary M. Farmer, Jr., District 34 ⁶ <i>Lauren Frances Book, District 32</i> |
| 2022-2024 Republican | Ben Albritton, District 27 | Lauren Frances Book, District 35 |

⁶ Gary M. Farmer, Jr. resigned on Apr. 28, 2021, and Lauren Frances Book was designated as Democratic (Minority) Leader on Apr. 28, 2021.