THE FLORIDA SENATE 2016 SUMMARY OF LEGISLATION PASSED Committee on Transportation

CS/HB 299 — Expressway Authorities

by Economic Affairs Committee and Rep. Nuñez (CS/CS/SB 574 by Rules Committee; Ethics and Elections Committee; and Senators Flores and Gaetz)

The bill reduces the Miami-Dade County Expressway Authority (MDX) governing body from thirteen to nine members, with five members appointed by the Miami-Dade County Commission, three members appointed by the Governor, and retaining the FDOT District Six Secretary as an ex-officio voting member. A member serving as of July 1, 2016, is authorized to serve the remainder of his or her term. However, when a term expires or upon a vacancy, a member may not be replaced by the appointing entity until the MDX governing body is composed of five voting members appointed by the Miami-Dade County Commission and three members appointed by the Governor's three appointees do not include the FDOT District Six Secretary. Assuming no re-appointments before July 1, 2016, no current member would have to be removed or replaced.

The bill makes an exception from the existing requirement that qualifications, terms, obligations and rights of the MDX members be determined by resolution or ordinance of the Miami-Dade County Commission and prohibits a person from being appointed to or serve as a member of the governing body of the MDX if the person currently represents or represented in the previous four years:

- Any client for compensation before the authority; or
- Any person or entity that is doing business or has in the previous four years done business with the authority.

In addition to existing penalties under s. 112.317, F.S., the bill also requires immediate termination of a member from the MDX governing body upon a finding of a violation of s. 348.0003(5), F.S., ch. 112, F.S., or for failure to comply within 90 days after receiving a notice of failure to comply with financial disclosure requirements.

If approved by the Governor, these provisions take effect July 1, 2016. *Vote: Senate 36-0; House 116-1*