By Senator Bennett

21-00905-09 2009722

Senate Resolution

A resolution recognizing Paul Azinger, captain of the victorious 2008 United States Ryder Cup team.

4 5

6

7

8

9

1011

12

13

14

15

1617

1819

2021

22

23

24

2526

27

28

29

1

2

3

WHEREAS, Paul Azinger was born on January 6, 1960, in Holyoke, Massachusetts, moved with his family to Florida when he was 2 months old, and today resides in Bradenton, Florida, and

WHEREAS, Paul Azinger graduated from Sarasota High School, Brevard Community College, and Florida State University, where he was a member of the men's varsity golf team, and

WHEREAS, since his entry into the world of professional golf in 1981, Paul Azinger has won 15 tournaments, including 12 on the PGA Tour, most notably the 1992 Tour Championship and the 1993 PGA Championship, and

WHEREAS, Paul Azinger has played on four United States
Ryder Cup teams, including the winning teams of 1991 and 1993,
and

WHEREAS, Ryder Cup competition began in 1927, following an exhibition match in 1926 between a team representing professionals from the United States and a team representing the British PGA, and

WHEREAS, the Ryder Cup Trophy is awarded biennially to the winner of an event, called the Ryder Cup Matches, which is contested between teams from Europe and the United States, is jointly administered by the PGA of America and the PGA European Tour, and is held alternately at sites in the United States and Europe, and

WHEREAS, following years of dominance by the United States, in which its team won 20 of 21 matches between 1935 and 1983,

30

31

3233

3435

36

37

38

39

40

41

42

43 44

4546

47

48

49

50

51

52

53

21-00905-09 2009722

the European team began a period of supremacy, winning 8 of 11 matches between 1985 and 2006, including three straight victories in 2002, 2004, and 2006, and

WHEREAS, Paul Azinger was named captain of the 2008 United States Ryder Cup team consisting of players Chad Campbell, Stewart Cink, Ben Curtis, Jim Furyk, J.B. Holmes, Anthony Kim, Justin Leonard, Hunter Mahan, Phil Mickelson, Kenny Perry, Steve Stricker, and Boo Weekley and assistant captains Olin Browne, Raymond Floyd, and Dave Stockton, and

WHEREAS, on September 19-21, 2008, at the Valhalla Golf Club in Louisville, Kentucky, Paul Azinger, as captain, led the United States Ryder Cup team to its first Ryder Cup victory since 1999, NOW, THEREFORE,

Be It Resolved by the Senate of the State of Florida:

That the Senate recognizes and commends Floridian Paul Azinger for his leadership of the victorious 2008 United States Ryder Cup team, his efforts as a player on earlier United States Ryder Cup teams, and his accomplishments in and contributions to professional golf.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution, with the Seal of the Senate affixed, be presented to Paul Azinger as a tangible token of the sentiments of the Florida Senate.