CS/CS/HM 1445 2011

ı

House Memorial

A memorial to notify the Federal Government of colleges and universities in this state which are authorized to operate educational programs beyond the secondary level.

WHEREAS, On October 29, 2010, the United States Department of Education issued its Final Rule on Program Integrity Issues, 75 Federal Register 66832 et seq., which includes amendments to regulations at 34 Code of Federal Regulations s. 600.9(a)(1)(i)(A) requiring that educational institutions not created by the state be "established by name as an educational institution by a State through a charter, statute, constitutional provision, or other action..." and be "authorized to operate educational programs beyond secondary level, including programs leading to a degree or certificate," and

WHEREAS, the Legislature chose to exempt from the jurisdiction or purview of the Commission for Independent Education "any institution that is under the jurisdiction of the Department of Education, eligible to participate in the William L. Boyd, IV, Florida Resident Access Grant Program and that is a nonprofit independent college or university located and chartered in this state and accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools to grant baccalaureate degrees," pursuant to s. 1005.06(1)(c), Florida Statutes, and

WHEREAS, all institutions exempted from the jurisdiction or purview of the Commission for Independent Education through accreditation by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern

Page 1 of 3

CS/CS/HM 1445 2011

29

30

31

32

33

3435

36

37

38

39

40

41

42

43

44

45

46

47

48

49

50

51

52

53

54

55

56

Association of Colleges and Schools must meet state requirements regarding fair consumer practices under s. 1005.04, Florida Statutes; meet annual reporting requirements with respect to crime statistics and physical plant safety under ss. 1005.04(1)(q) and 1013.11, Florida Statutes; and adopt hazing policies and rules under s. 1006.63, Florida Statutes, and WHEREAS, all institutions that are exempt from the jurisdiction or purview of the Commission for Independent Education under s. 1005.06(1)(c), Florida Statutes, may participate in one or more state-funded student financial aid programs subject to audit by the Florida Department of Education, including, but not limited to, the Florida Private Student Assistance Grant Program pursuant to s. 1009.51, Florida Statutes, the Florida Bright Futures Scholarship Program pursuant to s. 1009.53, Florida Statutes, and the William L. Boyd, IV, Florida Resident Access Grant Program pursuant to s. 1009.89, Florida Statutes, and WHEREAS, the institutions that are eligible to participate in Florida's student financial aid programs include: Ave Maria University, Barry University, Beacon College, Bethune-Cookman University, Clearwater Christian College, Eckerd College, Edward Waters College, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Flagler College, Florida College, Florida Hospital College of Health Sciences, Florida Institute of Technology, Florida Memorial

Page 2 of 3

University, Palm Beach Atlantic University, Ringling College of

University, Florida Southern College, Hodges University,

Art and Design, Rollins College, Saint Leo University,

Jacksonville University, Lynn University, Nova Southeastern

CS/CS/HM 1445 2011

Southeastern University, St. Thomas University, Stetson University, University of Miami, University of Tampa, Warner University, Webber International University, Keiser University, and Everglades University, NOW, THEREFORE,

61

57

58

59

60

Be It Resolved by the Legislature of the State of Florida:

63

64

65

66

67

68

6970

71

72

73

74

62

That the 2011 Florida Legislature respectfully informs the United States Department of Education that the colleges and universities named in this memorial are authorized to operate educational programs beyond the secondary level.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that copies of this memorial be dispatched to each college and university named in this memorial, to the United States Secretary of Education, to the President of the United States, to the President of the United States Senate, to the Speaker of the United States House of Representatives, and to each member of the Florida delegation to the United States Congress.