By Senator Rouson

16-02885B-24 20241822

Senate Resolution

A resolution recognizing February 2024 as "Black History Month" in Florida.

WHEREAS, every year, Floridians join with all Americans in recognizing February as the month to commemorate the contributions of African Americans to our society and to celebrate the birth month of two great Americans, Abraham Lincoln and Frederick Douglass, both of whom were leaders in the movement to abolish slavery, and

WHEREAS, long ago, an estimated 12 million African men, women, and children were forcibly removed from their homelands, enslaved, and placed on ships that sailed to the Western Hemisphere, and

WHEREAS, approximately 2 million of those African men, women, and children died on the Middle Passage, but 10 million survived and arrived in the Americas, where they and their children lived in slavery, and

WHEREAS, because slavery and the ideals upon which this country was founded were in direct conflict, the Civil War erupted and lasted 4 years, ultimately leading to hard-won change and the abolishment of slavery in the United States of America, which was recognized through the ratification of the 13th Amendment to the United States Constitution, and

WHEREAS, the Emancipation Proclamation was signed by President Abraham Lincoln on January 1, 1863, and, in 2024, Floridians celebrated the 161st anniversary of that declaration, which made enslaved people in all confederate states "free forever," and

16-02885B-24 20241822

WHEREAS, our nation has celebrated black history during the month of February since 1926, when Carter G. Woodson established Negro History Week, and

WHEREAS, the Civil Rights Movement of the 20th century began in an effort to correct the failures of Reconstruction and erase the remnants of slavery still evident in Jim Crow laws, in continued segregation in nearly every aspect of daily life, and in the persistence of second-class citizenship for African Americans, and

WHEREAS, nearly 61 years ago, in August 1963, the historic March on Washington for Jobs and Freedom, led by the late Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., who delivered his now famous "I Have a Dream" speech on the steps of the Lincoln Memorial, was a catalyst for the passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, and

WHEREAS, as a testament to the strength of all African
Americans throughout these struggles, we note the contributions
to the political and social growth of American society of
Sojourner Truth, Frederick Douglass, Harriet Tubman, Booker T.
Washington, George Washington Carver, Carter G. Woodson, W.E.B.
DuBois, Malcolm X, Dr. King, Fannie Lou Hamer, Thurgood
Marshall, Barbara Jordan, Shirley Chisholm, Dorothy Height, and
President Barack Obama, and

WHEREAS, we honor, particularly, the African Americans who are currently serving in this body and those who served before them: those who served from 1868-1887, during the Reconstruction era; and 95 years later, in 1982, when Senator Carrie P. Meek and Senator Arnett E. Girardeau became the first two post-Reconstruction African Americans elected, serving with

16-02885B-24 20241822

distinction for 10 years when, in 1992, James T. Hargrett, Jr., Betty S. Holzendorf, Daryl L. Jones, Matthew Meadows, and William H. Turner were also elected, and

WHEREAS, the culture of the United States of America has been vitally enriched through the contributions of African-American musicians, artists, and writers, including Charlie Parker, Billie Holiday, Louis Armstrong, Duke Ellington, Count Basie, Dizzy Gillespie, Marian Anderson, Ella Fitzgerald, James DePreist, Leontyne Price, Andre Watts, Phyllis Wheatley, Langston Hughes, Richard Wright, James Baldwin, Alex Haley, Gwendolyn Brooks, Maya Angelou, Toni Morrison, Alice Walker, Rita Dove, Oprah Winfrey, Denzel Washington, Angela Bassett, Hill Harper, Anika Noni Rose, Jennifer Hudson, Beyoncé Knowles, Colson Whitehead, Robin Coste Lewis, Amanda Gorman, and Viola Davis, and

WHEREAS, African-American sports figures have demonstrated their ability to be role models on and off the field and in and out of the ring as they stood up for their rights and beliefs, and these legendary athletes include Jesse Owens, Arthur Ashe, Lee Roy Selmon, Freddie Solomon, Muhammad Ali, Venus and Serena Williams, Trayvon Bromell, Shaquem and Shaquill Griffin, and Florida native Robert "Bullet Bob" Hayes, the first athlete to earn both an Olympic Gold Medal and an NFL Super Bowl Ring, and

WHEREAS, the fields of medicine, science, and technology have all been advanced by the contributions of African-American men and women, including Dr. Daniel Hale Williams, George Washington Carver, Dr. Charles R. Drew, Garrett Morgan, and Dr. Mae C. Jemison, and

WHEREAS, native Floridians, including Mary McLeod Bethune,

88

89

90 91

92

93

94

95

9697

98

99 100

101102

103

16-02885B-24 20241822

Joseph E. Lee, James Weldon Johnson, Harry Tyson Moore, Harriette Vyda Simms Moore, Zora Neale Hurston, Asa Philip Randolph, Charles Kenzie Steele, Jesse K. McCrary, Jr., and Patricia Stephens Due have proudly represented our state as they contributed to the history and culture of the United States of America, and

WHEREAS, each year, it is important to celebrate the many achievements of African Americans in an effort to offer each American a broader perspective of the history of this nation and an appreciation for the diversity that makes this great nation strong, NOW, THEREFORE,

Be It Resolved by the Senate of the State of Florida:

That February 2024 is recognized as "Black History Month" in Florida.

Page 4 of 4