SB 15-A — Energy Efficiency Rebate Programs

by Rep. McKeel (SB 6A by Senator Bennett)

The bill appropriates \$31,369,867, with \$2,467,244 in nonrecurring funds appropriated from the Grants and Donations Trust Fund to the Florida Energy and Climate Commission (FECC) to be used to pay approved HVAC rebates, and \$28,902,623 from the Grants and Donations Trust Fund, from Specific Appropriation 2561A, Chapter 2009-81, Laws of Florida, to the FECC first to supplement the HVAC funding, if necessary, and second to make payments on Solar Energy System Incentives Program rebates.

The FECC is directed to pay a \$1,500 rebate to each consumer whose Florida ENERGY STAR Residential HVAC Rebate Program application is approved by the FECC. The eligibility requirements are that:

- a complete application must be submitted to the FECC on or before November 30, 2010;
- the HVAC system for which the applicant is seeking a rebate must have been purchased or contracted for after August 29, 2010, but before September 15, 2010, and fully installed prior to submission of the application for a rebate; and
- the application must contain specified information including: a copy of either the sales receipt or the purchase and installation contract indicating qualifying date of purchase; and a copy of the installation permit; a copy of the leakage report.

The remainder of the \$28,902,623 appropriation is to be used to pay a percentage of each unpaid and approved rebate application pursuant to the Solar Energy System Incentives Program. The percentage of each approved rebate to be paid must be derived by dividing the remaining appropriation by the total dollar value of the backlog of final approved solar rebates.

Obtaining a rebate pursuant to this act based on the submission of information that the applicant knows to be false a theft, punishable as provided in s. 812.014, F.S., with the degree of the felony and the corresponding penalties depend on the amount stolen.

These provisions were approved by the Governor with an effective date of November 17, 2010. *Vote: Senate 36-2; House 118-0*