Skip to Navigation | Skip to Main Content | Skip to Site Map | Archives | Mobile Site

Senate Tracker: Sign Up | Login

Senate Live by Watch Now

Senate Committee on Reapportionment
103 Senate Office Building

Committee Mailing Address:
404 S. Monroe Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1100
(850) 487-5855
Senate VOIP 5855

House of Representatives Redistricting Website


Congressional and State Legislative Districts

In 2012, the Legislature passed new congressional, state house, and state senate plans based on the 2010 Census, federal and state legal standards, citizen testimony, publicly-drawn maps, and open committee discussions. These plans apply to state house and senate districts, and to congressional districts for representatives elected in the 2012 general and 2014 special and general elections.

On August 11, 2014, the Legislature passed SJR 2-B, a remedial plan intended to address a court judgment concluding that Districts 5 and 10 were drawn in violation of the Article III, Section 20 of the Florida Constitution.

In response to the July 9, 2015 Florida Supreme Court ruling in The League of Women Voters of Florida, etc., et al. v. Ken Detzner, et al., regarding 8 of Florida’s 27 congressional districts, the Florida Legislature has scheduled Special Session 2015 B to begin on August 10, 2015.

Senate President Andy Gardiner and House Speaker Steve Crisafulli directed professional staff of the Senate Committee on Reapportionment and the House Select Committee on Redistricting to work with legal counsel to develop a base congressional map that complies with the Florida Supreme Court’s ruling and all other relevant legal standards. Information on this congressional base map is below.

The President and Speaker have similarly instructed staff to develop a base map for the state senate to be prepared for Special Session C. When available, information on this state senate map will be posted to this site.

Related Documents