HCR 239 2020

1 2

3

5

7 8 9

10 11

12

13 14

1516

17 18

1920

22

23

21

2425

House Concurrent Resolution

A concurrent resolution ratifying the proposed amendment to the Constitution of the United States relating to equal rights for men and women.

WHEREAS, during the Second Session of the Ninety-second Congress of the United States of America, by a constitutional majority of two-thirds, both houses approved the Equal Rights Amendment, and

WHEREAS, on March 22, 1972, this proposed amendment to the Constitution of the United States was sent to the states for ratification, and

WHEREAS, Article V of the United States Constitution authorizes the Legislature of Florida to ratify proposed amendments to the Constitution of the United States, and

WHEREAS, 37 of the necessary 38 states have already ratified the Equal Rights Amendment, and

WHEREAS, constitutional equality for men and women continues to be timely in the United States and worldwide, and many other nations have achieved constitutional equality for their men and women, NOW, THEREFORE,

Be It Resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Florida, the Senate Concurring:

Page 1 of 2

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions.

HCR 239 2020

That the proposed amendment to the Constitution of the United States set forth below is ratified by the Legislature of the State of Florida.

"ARTICLE

"SECTION 1. Equality of rights under the law shall not be denied or abridged by the United States or by any State on account of sex.

"SECTION 2. The Congress shall have the power to enforce, by appropriate legislation, the provisions of this article.

"SECTION 3. This amendment shall take effect two years after the date of ratification."

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that certified copies of the foregoing preamble and resolution be immediately forwarded by the Secretary of State of the State of Florida, under the Great Seal of this state, to the President of the United States, the Secretary of State of the United States, the President of the Senate of the United States, the Speaker of the House of Representatives of the United States, and the Administrator of the General Services Administration of the United States.