Skip to Navigation | Skip to Main Content | Skip to Site Map | Mobile Site

Senate Tracker: Sign Up | Login

The Florida Senate

2017 Florida Statutes

F.S. 20.61
20.61 Agency for State Technology.The Agency for State Technology is created within the Department of Management Services. The agency is a separate budget program and is not subject to control, supervision, or direction by the Department of Management Services, including, but not limited to, purchasing, transactions involving real or personal property, personnel, or budgetary matters.
(1)(a) The executive director of the agency shall serve as the state’s chief information officer and shall be appointed by the Governor, subject to confirmation by the Senate.
(b) The executive director must be a proven, effective administrator who preferably has executive-level experience in both the public and private sectors in development and implementation of information technology strategic planning; management of enterprise information technology projects, particularly management of large-scale consolidation projects; and development and implementation of fiscal and substantive information technology policy.
(2) The following positions are established within the agency, all of whom shall be appointed by the executive director:
(a) Deputy executive director, who shall serve as the deputy chief information officer.
(b) Chief planning officer and six strategic planning coordinators. One coordinator shall be assigned to each of the following major program areas: health and human services, education, government operations, criminal and civil justice, agriculture and natural resources, and transportation and economic development.
(c) Chief operations officer.
(d) Chief information security officer.
(e) Chief technology officer.
(3) The Technology Advisory Council, consisting of seven members, is established within the Agency for State Technology and shall be maintained pursuant to s. 20.052. Four members of the council shall be appointed by the Governor, two of whom must be from the private sector and one of whom must be a cybersecurity expert. The President of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives shall each appoint one member of the council. The Attorney General, the Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services, and the Chief Financial Officer shall jointly appoint one member by agreement of a majority of these officers. Upon initial establishment of the council, two of the Governor’s appointments shall be for 2-year terms. Thereafter, all appointments shall be for 4-year terms.
(a) The council shall consider and make recommendations to the executive director on such matters as enterprise information technology policies, standards, services, and architecture. The council may also identify and recommend opportunities for the establishment of public-private partnerships when considering technology infrastructure and services in order to accelerate project delivery and provide a source of new or increased project funding.
(b) The executive director shall consult with the council with regard to executing the duties and responsibilities of the agency related to statewide information technology strategic planning and policy.
(c) The council shall be governed by the Code of Ethics for Public Officers and Employees as set forth in part III of chapter 112, and each member must file a statement of financial interests pursuant to s. 112.3145.
History.s. 6, ch. 2014-221; s. 1, ch. 2016-138.