THE FLORIDA SENATE 2022 SUMMARY OF LEGISLATION PASSED

Committee on Transportation

CS/CS/SB 160 — Transportation-related Facility Designations

by Appropriations Committee; Transportation Committee; and Senator Harrell

The bill creates a number of honorary designations of transportation facilities around the state and directs the Florida Department of Transportation to erect suitable markers for each of the following designations:

- S.R. 715/Bacom Point Road between W. Morgan Road and S.W. 14th Street in Palm Beach County as "Deputy Sheriff Donta Manuel and Deputy Sheriff Jonathan Wallace Highway."
- Bridge number 100850 on S.R. 60/Courtney Campbell Causeway over Old Tampa Bay in Hillsborough County as "Virginia Creighton Bridge."
- The intersection of S.W. 23rd Avenue and S.W. 8th Street in Miami-Dade County as "Arturo Diaz Artiles Plaza."
- W. Columbus Drive between N. Himes Avenue and N. MacDill Avenue in Hillsborough County as "Maximino Capdevila Road."
- S.R. 19 between C.R. 48 and Lane Park Cutoff Road in Lake County as "Sergeant First Class Michael C. Aten Memorial Highway."
- Bridge number 720684 on I-95 over the Trout River in Jacksonville/Duval County as "Warren Alvarez Memorial Bridge."
- U.S. 27/S.R. 25 between the Polk County line and the Glades County line in Highlands County as "Deputy William Gentry, Jr., Highway."
- S.R. 100 in Clay County between the Bradford County line and the Putnam County line as "Veterans Honor Highway."
- Upon completion of construction, the interchange at First Coast Expressway/S.R. 23 and Henley Road in Clay County as "Sergeant Eric John Twisdale Memorial Interchange."
- S.R. A1A between the northern terminus and southern terminus of Galt Ocean Drive in Broward County as "Pio Ieraci Memorial Drive."
- S.R. 520/W. King Street between S.R. 501/Clearlake Road and S.R. 519/Fiske Boulevard in Brevard County as "Sgt. George Lee Taylor, Sr., Memorial Highway."
- S.R. 519/Fiske Boulevard between Rosa L. Jones Drive and I-95 in Brevard County as "Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Boulevard."
- U.S. 90 between Canal Street and Stewart Street in Santa Rosa County as "Reverend Murray Hamilton, Sr., Highway."
- S.R. 87 between E. Bay Boulevard and U.S. 98 in Santa Rosa County as "Ira Mae Wells-Bruce Memorial Highway."
- Bayfront Parkway between Tarragona Street and N. 17th Avenue in Escambia County as "Pensacola Police Fallen Heroes Highway."
- The Cow Key Channel Bridge, bridge numbers 900086 and 900125, between milepost 4.100 and milepost 4.169 on Overseas Highway in Monroe County as "Cheryl H. Cates Memorial Bridge."
- S.R. 953/NW 42nd Avenue/Le Jeune Road from N.W. 11th Street to N.W. 14th Street in Miami-Dade County as "Oswaldo Payá Way."

- S.R. 82 between Veronica S. Shoemaker Boulevard and Ortiz Avenue in Lee County as "Coach Guy Thomas Memorial Highway."
- North University Drive between S.R. 827 and the Sawgrass Expressway as "Michael Moskowitz Drive."
- S.R. 408/Spessard L. Holland East-West Expressway between the Mills Avenue exit and the Rosalind Avenue in Orange County as "Austin D. Gayne Memorial Highway."
- S.R. 826/Sunny Isles Boulevard between N.E. 35th Avenue and S.R. A1A in Miami-Dade County as "Anthony Reznik Boulevard."
- N.W. 12th Avenue/John Henry Peavy Jr. Avenue between N.W. 62nd Street and N.W. 71st Street in Miami-Dade County as "Soul of Miami Avenue."
- Bridge number 380097 on U.S. 27 over the Fenholloway River in Taylor County as "Private Tillman R. Clark Memorial Bridge."
- Matanzas Woods Parkway between Bird of Paradise Drive and Old Kings Road in Flagler County as "Staff Sergeant Keon Clyde Sands Memorial Parkway."
- I-75 between the Charlotte County line bordering DeSoto County and the Lee County line bordering Collier County as "Purple Heart Highway."
- U.S. 41/S.W. 8th Street between S.W. 21st Avenue and S.W. 22nd Avenue in Miami-Dade County as "Bellas Artes Way."

If approved by the Governor, these provisions take effect July 1, 2022.

Vote: Senate 39-0; House 116-0

This summary is provided for information only and does not represent the opinion of any Senator, Senate Officer, or Senate Office.