Bill No. CS/HB 159, 3rd Eng.

Amendment No. ____

	CHAMBER ACTION
	Senate House .
1	: :
2	: :
3	
4	·
5	
6	
7	
8	
9	
10	-
11	Senators Holzendorf and Sullivan moved the following amendment
12	to amendment (212208):
13	
14	Senate Amendment (with title amendment)
15	On page 2 between lines 25 and 26,
16	
17	insert:
18	Section 2. Subsection (1) of section 228.055, Florida
19	Statutes, is amended to read:
20	228.055 Regional autism centers
21	(1) $\underline{\text{Six}}$ Five regional autism centers are established
22	to provide nonresidential resource and training services for
23	persons of all ages and of all levels of intellectual
24	functioning who have autism, as defined in s. 393.063; who
25	have a pervasive developmental disorder that is not otherwise
26	specified; who have an autistic-like disability; who have a
27	dual sensory impairment; or who have a sensory impairment with
28	other handicapping conditions. Each center shall be
29	operationally and fiscally independent and shall provide
30	services within its geographical region of the state. Each
31	center shall coordinate services within and between state and
	3:19 PM 04/22/98 1 h0159c1c-02m0b

2

3

4

5

6 7

8

9 10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19 20

21

22

23 24

25

26 27

28 29

30

local agencies and school districts but may not duplicate services provided by those agencies or school districts. The respective locations and service areas of the centers are:

- (a) The Department of Communication Disorders at Florida State University, which serves Bay, Calhoun, Escambia, Franklin, Gadsden, Gulf, Holmes, Jackson, Jefferson, Leon, Liberty, Madison, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa, Taylor, Wakulla, Walton, and Washington Counties.
- (b) The College of Medicine at the University of Florida, which serves Alachua, Bradford, Citrus, Columbia, Dixie, Gilchrist, Hamilton, Hernando, Lafayette, Lake, Levy, Marion, Orange, Osceola, Putnam, Seminole, Sumter, Suwannee, and Union Counties.
- (c) The University of Florida Health Science Center at Jacksonville, which serves Baker, Brevard, Clay, Duval, Flagler, Nassau, and St. Johns, and Volusia Counties. (d) The Florida Mental Health Institute at the University of South Florida, which serves Charlotte, Collier, DeSoto, Glades, Hardee, Hendry, Highlands, Hillsborough, Indian River, Lee, Manatee, Martin, Okeechobee, Pasco, Pinellas, Polk, St. Lucie, and Sarasota Counties.
- (d) The Florida Mental Health Institute at the University of South Florida, which serves Charlotte, Collier, DeSoto, Glades, Hardee, Hendry, Highlands, Hillsborough, Indian River, Lee, Manatee, Martin, Okeechobee, Pasco, Pinellas, Polk, St. Lucie, and Sarasota Counties.
- (e) The Mailman Center for Child Development at the University of Miami, which serves Broward, Dade, Monroe, and Palm Beach Counties.
- (f) The College of Health and Public Affairs at the 31 | University of Central Florida, which serves Brevard, Lake,

Bill No. <u>CS/HB 159, 3rd Eng.</u>

Amendment No. ____

```
Orange, Osceola, Seminole, Sumter, and Volusia Counties.
 2
 3
    (Redesignate subsequent sections.)
 4
 5
 6
    ======== T I T L E A M E N D M E N T ==========
 7
   And the title is amended as follows:
 8
          On page 3, line 9, after the semicolon
 9
10
    insert:
11
           increasing number of regional autism centers;
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
```