By Senator Cowin

11-1842-98 See HR

1 Senate Resolution No. ___

A resolution commending the State Champion Mt. Dora High School Hurricanes, winners of the 1998 Class 4A Florida High School Basketball Championship.

6 7

8

9

10

11 12

13

14 15

16 17

18

19

20

21

22

23 24

25

26

27

28

29

30

2

3

4

5

WHEREAS, on March 7, 1998, the Mt. Dora High School Hurricanes defeated the Jacksonville Ribault High School Trojans 55-48 to win their first state championship at the Class 4A Florida High School Basketball Tournament held at the Lakeland Center, and

WHEREAS, the Hurricanes finished their regular season with an astounding school record of 33 wins and 3 losses in a difficult schedule that included 19 teams that made the playoffs, and

WHEREAS, Mt. Dora's strength, both during the regular season and in the playoffs, was a man-to-man defense that allowed only one team to score as many as 50 points against the Hurricanes during postseason play, and

WHEREAS, Mt. Dora, which had not been to the state championship tournament since 1967 and had not been in the championship game since 1964, faced a Ribault team with a state tournament tradition of 13 appearances and four state championships to its credit, and

WHEREAS, Mt. Dora emerged victorious in the state championship by virtue of a truly remarkable team effort and with tremendous fan support from the citizens of Mt. Dora and Lake County, and

WHEREAS, it is with great pride that the citizens of Mt. Dora and Lake County celebrate the championship season of 31 team members Anthony Banner, Chad Boyd, Greg Brittian, Brandon Durias, Byron Durias, Isaac Johnson, Kendrix Jones, Josh Koester, Kendrick Manor, Sean Peterson, Josh Reed, and Zach Ward, Head Coach Scott Williams, assistant coaches Curtis Boyd, Ron Devlin, Bo Dixon, and John Uptak, and team managers Justin Ricci and Soloman Jones, NOW, THEREFORE,

Be It Resolved by the Senate of the State of Florida:

 That the Senate of the State of Florida hereby commmends and congratulates the State Champion Mt. Dora High School Hurricanes, winners of the 1998 Class 4A High School Basketball State Championship.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that copies of this resolution be presented to team members Anthony Banner, Chad Boyd, Greg Brittian, Brandon Durias, Byron Durias, Isaac Johnson, Kendrix Jones, Josh Koester, Kendrick Manor, Sean Peterson, Josh Reed, and Zach Ward, Head Coach Scott Williams, assistant coaches Curtis Boyd, Ron Devlin, Bo Dixon, and John Uptak, and team managers Justin Ricci and Soloman Jones as a tangible token of the sentiments expressed herein.