## 38-719A-03

A bill to be entitled 1 2 An act relating to colleges; amending s. 1000.21, F.S.; changing the name of Chipola 3 4 Junior College to Chipola College and 5 Miami-Dade Community College to Miami-Dade 6 College; amending ss. 288.8175, 1002.35, 7 1004.76, F.S.; conforming provisions; providing an effective date. 8 9 10 Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Florida: 11 12 Section 1. Paragraphs (d) and (o) of subsection (3) of section 1000.21, Florida Statutes, is amended to read: 13 1000.21 Systemwide definitions.--As used in the 14 Florida K-20 Education Code: 15 "Community college," except as otherwise 16 17 specifically provided, includes the following institutions and any branch campuses, centers, or other affiliates of the 18 19 institution: 20 (d) Chipola Junior College. (o) Miami-Dade Community College. 21 22 Section 2. Subsection (5) of section 288.8175, Florida Statutes, is amended to read: 23 288.8175 Linkage institutes between postsecondary 24 25 institutions in this state and foreign countries .--(5) The institutes are: 26 27 (a) Florida-Brazil Institute (University of Florida 28 and Miami-Dade Community College). 29 (b) Florida-Costa Rica Institute (Florida State 30 University and Valencia Community College). 31

1

2

3

4 5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12 13

14 15

16 17

18

19

20

21

22

23 24

25

26 27

28

29

30

- (c) Florida Caribbean Institute (Florida International University and Daytona Beach Community College).
- Florida-Canada Institute (University of Central Florida and Palm Beach Junior College).
- (e) Florida-China Institute (University of West Florida, University of South Florida, and Brevard Community College).
- (f) Florida-Japan Institute (University of South Florida, University of West Florida, and St. Petersburg Community College).
- (g) Florida-France Institute (New College of the University of South Florida, Miami-Dade Community College, and Florida State University).
- (h) Florida-Israel Institute (Florida Atlantic University and Broward Community College).
- (i) Florida-West Africa Institute (Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University, University of North Florida, and Florida Community College at Jacksonville).
- (j) Florida-Eastern Europe Institute (University of Central Florida and Lake Sumter Community College).
- (k) Florida-Mexico Institute (Florida International University and Polk Community College).
- Section 3. Paragraph (a) of subsection (2) of section 1002.35, Florida Statutes, is amended to read:
  - 1002.35 New World School of the Arts.--
- (2)(a) For purposes of governance, the New World School of the Arts is assigned to Miami-Dade Community College, the Dade County School District, and one or more universities designated by the State Board of Education. The State Board of Education shall assign to the New World School 31 of the Arts a university partner or partners. In this

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12 13

14 15

16 17

18 19

20

21 22

23 24

25

26

27 28

29

30

selection, the State Board of Education shall consider the accreditation status of the core programs. Florida International University, in its capacity as the provider of university services to Dade County, shall be a partner to serve the New World School of the Arts, upon meeting the accreditation criteria. The respective boards shall appoint members to an executive board for administration of the school. The executive board may include community members and shall reflect proportionately the participating institutions. Miami-Dade Community College shall serve as fiscal agent for the school.

Section 4. Subsection (2) of section 1004.76, Florida Statutes, is amended to read:

1004.76 Florida Martin Luther King, Jr., Institute for Nonviolence. --

(2) There is hereby created the Florida Martin Luther King, Jr., Institute for Nonviolence to be established at Miami-Dade Community College. The institute shall have an advisory board consisting of 13 members as follows: the Attorney General, the Commissioner of Education, and 11 members to be appointed by the Governor, such members to represent the population of the state based on its ethnic, gender, and socioeconomic diversity. Of the members appointed by the Governor, one shall be a member of the Senate appointed by the Governor on the recommendation of the President of the Senate; one shall be a member of the Senate appointed by the Governor on the recommendation of the minority leader; one shall be a member of the House of Representatives appointed by the Governor on the recommendation of the Speaker of the House of Representatives; one shall be a member of the House of 31 Representatives appointed by the Governor on the

recommendation of the minority leader; and seven shall be members appointed by the Governor, no more than three of whom shall be members of the same political party. The following groups shall be represented by the seven members: the Florida Sheriffs Association; the Florida Association of Counties; the Florida League of Cities; state universities human services agencies; community relations or human relations councils; and youth. A chairperson shall be elected by the members and shall serve for a term of 3 years. Members of the board shall serve the following terms of office which shall be staggered:

- (a) A member of the Legislature appointed to the board shall serve for a single term not to exceed 5 years and shall serve as a member only while he or she is a member of the Legislature.
- (b) Of the seven members who are not members of the Legislature, three shall serve for terms of 4 years, two shall serve for terms of 3 years, and one shall serve for a term of 1 year. Thereafter, each member, except for a member appointed to fill an unexpired term, shall serve for a 5-year term. No member shall serve on the board for more than 10 years.

21 22 23

24

25

26 27

3

4

5

6 7

8 9

10

11

12 13

14

15

16 17

18 19

20

In the event of a vacancy occurring in the office of a member of the board by death, resignation, or otherwise, the Governor shall appoint a successor to serve for the balance of the unexpired term.

Section 5. This act shall take effect July 1, 2003.

28

29

30

31

1	************
2	SENATE SUMMARY
3	Changes the name of Chipola Junior College to Chipola College and Miami-Dade Community College to Miami-Dade College.
4	College and Miami-Dade Community College to Miami-Dade College.
5	
6	
7	
8	
9	
10	
11	
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	