By Senator Hill

1-2456A-03

Senate Resolution No. _____

A resolution recognizing and commending Florida

A & M University's 2003 Honda Campus All-Star

Challenge Academic Team.

WHEREAS, in 1989, American Honda Motor Company.

WHEREAS, in 1989, American Honda Motor Company, partnering with the Association of College Unions
International and the National Association for Equal
Opportunity in Higher Education, collaborated with the College
Bowl Company to establish a unique competition known as the
"Honda Campus All-Star Challenge" for America's 89 4-year
degree-granting Historically Black Colleges and Universities,
and

WHEREAS, since the inaugural year of the challenge, more than 15,000 students have participated and gone on to pursue successful careers in science, medicine, aeronautics, industry, and government, and

WHEREAS, Academic Teams from Florida A & M University, coached by Dr. Vivian L. Hobbs, have participated in each challenge conducted in the 14-year history of the competition, distinguishing themselves as outstanding scholars by continually earning a place in the final rounds, capturing the National Championship in 1991, 1996, 1998, 1999, and 2003, and winning more than \$330,000 in academic grants, and

WHEREAS, Florida A & M University's 2003 National Championship Academic Team is made up of Jeffrey Rodgers, Alonzo Brandon Alexander, Jonathan Evans, Michael Gebrebrhan, and Kevin Johnson, NOW, THEREFORE,

30 Be It Resolved by the Senate of the State of Florida:

That the Florida Senate recognizes, commends, and applauds the students who participated as members of the academic teams assembled by Florida A & M University, and coached by Dr. Vivian L. Hobbs, for their academic excellence, their distinguished record of competition in the Honda Campus All-Star Challenges conducted over the past 14 years, and their capturing Five National Championships, culminating with the 2003 National Championship. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution, with the Seal of the Senate affixed, be presented to Jeffrey Rodgers, Alonzo Brandon Alexander, Jonathan Evans, Michael Gebrebrhan, and Kevin Johnson, and to their coach, Dr. Vivian L. Hobbs, as a tangible token of the sentiments of the Florida Senate.