By Senator Saunders

37-105A-03

Senate Resolution No. \_\_\_\_\_

A resolution recognizing and commending the

Fort Myers 80-Plus Senior Softball Team for

winning the 80-Plus Senior Softball World
Series and becoming the 2002 National Champions

of 80-plus senior softball competition.

678

9

12

13 14

15

16 17

18 19

20

21

22

23

2425

26

4

5

WHEREAS, the Fort Myers 80-Plus Senior Softball Team is based in Fort Myers, Florida, and is made up of men who are 79

or more years of age, and
WHEREAS, the team's

WHEREAS, the team's members are Casey Bibiro, Earl Laplan, Jim Batchlor, Carman Rankin, Ralph Grover, Bill Flock, Mike Madore, Bobby Deyer, Norm Rhodes, Frank Korowitz, Gerry Cook, John Pipher, Fred Wright, Earl Sturm, Len Obery, and Gene Higham, who also served as team manager, and

WHEREAS, the team, in August, 2002, participated in and won the 80-Plus Senior Softball World Series in Des Moines, Iowa, thereby becoming the 2002 National Champions of 80-plus senior softball, and

WHEREAS, the team's 2002 accomplishments in 80-plus senior softball competition bring distinctive honor to the State of Florida and its citizens, especially those who reside in and about the Fort Myers, Florida, area, by exemplifying the superlative status a group of senior men can attain by combining their talents and committing themselves in work to excel in playing the game of softball, NOW, THEREFORE,

2728

Be It Resolved by the Senate of the State of Florida:

2930

That the Florida Senate recognizes and commends the Fort Myers 80-Plus Senior Softball Team for accomplishing the

remarkable feat of winning the 2002 World Series for 80-plus senior softball, and becoming the 2002 National Champions of 80-plus senior softball. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution, with the Seal of the Senate affixed, be presented to the Fort Myers, Florida, 80-Plus Senior Softball Team as a tangible token of the sentiments of the Florida Senate.