Florida Senate - 2004

By Senator Klein

30-731-04 A bill to be entitled 1 2 An act relating to regional autism centers; 3 amending s. 1004.55, F.S.; creating an 4 additional regional autism center in the state; reducing the number of counties within the 5 service areas of two existing regional autism 6 7 centers; providing an effective date. 8 9 Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Florida: 10 11 Section 1. Subsections (1) and (3) of section 1004.55, 12 Florida Statutes, are amended to read: 1004.55 Regional autism centers.--13 14 Seven Six regional autism centers are established (1)to provide nonresidential resource and training services for 15 16 persons of all ages and of all levels of intellectual functioning who have autism, as defined in s. 393.063; who 17 have a pervasive developmental disorder that is not otherwise 18 19 specified; who have an autistic-like disability; who have a 20 dual sensory impairment; or who have a sensory impairment with 21 other handicapping conditions. Each center shall be 22 operationally and fiscally independent and shall provide services within its geographical region of the state. Each 23 center shall coordinate services within and between state and 24 local agencies and school districts but may not duplicate 25 services provided by those agencies or school districts. The 26 27 respective locations and service areas of the centers are: 28 (a) The Department of Communication Disorders at Florida State University, which serves Bay, Calhoun, Escambia, 29 30 Franklin, Gadsden, Gulf, Holmes, Jackson, Jefferson, Leon, 31

1

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions.

1 Liberty, Madison, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa, Taylor, Wakulla, 2 Walton, and Washington Counties. 3 (b) The College of Medicine at the University of 4 Florida, which serves Alachua, Bradford, Citrus, Columbia, 5 Dixie, Gilchrist, Hamilton, Hernando, Lafayette, Levy, Marion, б Putnam, Suwannee, and Union Counties. 7 (c) The University of Florida Health Science Center at 8 Jacksonville, which serves Baker, Clay, Duval, Flagler, Nassau, and St. Johns Counties. 9 10 (d) The Louis de la Parte Florida Mental Health 11 Institute at the University of South Florida, which serves Charlotte, Collier, DeSoto, Glades, Hardee, Hendry, Highlands, 12 Hillsborough, Indian River, Lee, Manatee, Martin, Okeechobee, 13 14 Pasco, Pinellas, Polk, St. Lucie, and Sarasota Counties. (e) The Mailman Center for Child Development at the 15 University of Miami, which serves Broward, Dade, and Monroe-16 17 and Palm Beach Counties. (f) The College of Health and Public Affairs at the 18 19 University of Central Florida, which serves Brevard, Lake, Orange, Osceola, Seminole, Sumter, and Volusia Counties. 20 (g) The Department of Exceptional Student Education at 21 Florida Atlantic University, which serves Palm Beach, Martin, 22 St. Lucie, Okeechobee, and Indian River Counties. 23 24 (3) To promote statewide planning and coordination, a 25 conference must be held annually for staff from each of the seven five centers and representatives from each center's 26 constituency board. The purpose of the conference is to 27 facilitate coordination, networking, cross-training, and 28 29 feedback among the staffs and constituency boards of the 30 centers. 31

CODING:Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions.

Florida Senate - 2004 30-731-04

-	
1	Section 2. This act shall take effect upon becoming a
2	law.
3	
4	* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
5	SENATE SUMMARY
6	Creates an additional regional autism center at Florida Atlantic University. Reduces the number of counties within the service areas of two existing regional autism
7	within the service areas of two existing regional autism centers.
8	
9	
10	
11	
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
	3

SB 1106

CODING:Words stricken are deletions; words <u>underlined</u> are additions.