HB 1845, Engrossed 1 2004 A bill to be entitled

1

An act relating to the organization and operation of the Department of Children and Family Services; amending s. 20.19, F.S.; providing for the establishment of zones; providing that district budget transfer authority shall be as set out in the General Appropriations Act or the implementing bill; repealing s. 402.33(10), F.S., relating to the permitted uses of fee collections in excess of the amount of appropriations; providing an effective date.

10 11

2

3

4 5

6

7

8

9

Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Florida:

12 13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28 29

- Subsection (5) of section 20.19, Florida Section 1. Statutes, is amended to read:
- 20.19 Department of Children and Family Services. -- There is created a Department of Children and Family Services.
 - (5) SERVICE DISTRICTS AND ZONES. --
- The department shall plan and administer its programs of family services through service districts and subdistricts composed of the following counties:
- District 1.--Escambia, Santa Rosa, Okaloosa, and Walton Counties.
- District 2, Subdistrict A.--Holmes, Washington, Bay, Jackson, Calhoun, and Gulf Counties.
- District 2, Subdistrict B.--Gadsden, Liberty, Franklin, Leon, Wakulla, Jefferson, Madison, and Taylor Counties.
- District 3.--Hamilton, Suwannee, Lafayette, Dixie, Columbia, Gilchrist, Levy, Union, Bradford, Putnam, and Alachua Counties.

HB 1845, Engrossed 1 2004

5. District 4.--Baker, Nassau, Duval, Clay, and St. Johns Counties.

- 6. District 5.--Pasco and Pinellas Counties.
- 7. District 6.--Hillsborough and Manatee Counties.
- 8. District 7, Subdistrict A.--Seminole, Orange, and Osceola Counties.
 - 9. District 7, Subdistrict B.--Brevard County.
- 37 10. District 8, Subdistrict A.--Sarasota and DeSoto 38 Counties.
- 11. District 8, Subdistrict B.--Charlotte, Lee, Glades,
 Hendry, and Collier Counties.
 - 12. District 9.--Palm Beach County.
- 42 13. District 10.--Broward County.

32

33

36

41

44

45

48

49

50

51

52

53

54 55

56

57

58

- 43 14. District 11, Subdistrict A.--Miami-Dade County.
 - 15. District 11, Subdistrict B.--Monroe County.
 - 16. District 12. -- Flagler and Volusia Counties.
- 17. District 13.--Marion, Citrus, Hernando, Sumter, and Lake Counties.
 - 18. District 14.--Polk, Hardee, and Highlands Counties.
 - 19. District 15.--Indian River, Okeechobee, St. Lucie, and Martin Counties.
 - (b)1. The secretary shall appoint a district administrator for each of the service districts. The district administrator shall serve at the pleasure of the secretary and shall perform such duties as assigned by the secretary. Subject to the approval of the secretary, such duties shall include transferring up to 10 percent of the total district budget, the provisions of ss. 216.292 and 216.351 notwithstanding.
 - 2. Any district For the 2003-2004 fiscal year only, the

HB 1845, Engrossed 1 2004

transfer authority related to the budget that is beyond the

provisions of chapter 216 provided in this subsection must be
specifically identified appropriated in the 2003-2004 General
Appropriations Act or its implementing bill and shall be
pursuant to the requirements of s. 216.292. This subparagraph

- (c) The secretary may also establish administrative zones responsible for providing administrative support, including programmatic technical assistance, budget and financial services, data collection an information technology services, and such other duties as the secretary assigns. The zones shall be composed of the following districts and counties:
 - 1. Panhandle Zone.--

expires July 1, 2004.

64

65

66

67

68

69

70

71

72

73

74

75

76

77

78

79

80

81

84 85

86

- a. District 1.--Escambia, Santa Rosa, Okaloosa, and Walton Counties.
- b. District 2, Subdistrict A.--Holmes, Washington, Bay, Jackson, Calhoun, and Gulf Counties.
- c. District 2, Subdistrict B.--Gadsden, Liberty, Franklin, Leon, Wakulla, Jefferson, Madison, and Taylor Counties.
 - 2. Northeast Zone.--
- <u>a. District 3.--Hamilton, Suwannee, Lafayette, Dixie, Columbia, Gilchrist, Levy, Union, Bradford, Putnam, and Alachua Counties.</u>
- 82 <u>b. District 4.--Baker, Nassau, Duval, Clay, and St. Johns</u>
 83 Counties.
 - c. District 12.--Flagler and Volusia Counties.
 - 3. The Suncoast Zone.-
 - a. District 5.--Pasco and Pinellas Counties.
- 87 b. District 6.--Hillsborough and Manatee Counties.

HB 1845, Engrossed 1 2004 88 4. Central Zone.--89 District 7, Subdistrict A.--Seminole, Orange, and 90 Osceola Counties. 91 District 7, Subdistrict B.--Brevard County. 92 c. District 13.--Marion, Citrus, Hernando, Sumter, and 93 Lake Counties. 94 d. District 14.--Polk, Hardee, and Highlands Counties. 95 5. Southern Zone.--96 a. District 8, Subdistrict A.--Sarasota and Desoto 97 Counties. b. District 8, Subdistrict B.--Charlotte, Lee, Glades, 98 99 Hendry, and Collier Counties. 100 c. District 9.--Palm Beach County. 101 d. District 10.--Broward County. 102 District 15.--Indian River, Okeechobee, St. Lucie, and 103 Martin Counties. 104 6. District 11 Zone. --105 District 11, Subdistrict A.--Miami-Dade County. District 11, Subdistrict B.--Monroe County. 106 107 (d)(c) Each fiscal year the secretary shall, in 108 consultation with the relevant employee representatives, develop 109 projections of the number of child abuse and neglect cases and shall include in the department's legislative budget request a 110 111 specific appropriation for funds and positions for the next 112 fiscal year in order to provide an adequate number of full-time 113 equivalent: 114 Child protection investigation workers so that 115 caseloads do not exceed the Child Welfare League Standards by 116 more than two cases; and

HB 1845, Engrossed 1 2004

2. Child protection case workers so that caseloads do not exceed the Child Welfare League Standards by more than two cases.

Section 2. Subsection (10) of section 402.33, Florida Statutes, is repealed:

402.33 Department authority to charge fees for services provided.--

(10) Unless otherwise specified by the Legislature, fee collections, including third-party reimbursements, in excess of fee-supported appropriations may be used in conformance with the provisions of chapter 216 to fund nonrecurring expenditures for direct client services and to fund administrative costs of improving the fee collection program of the department. No more than one-sixth of the amount of collections in excess of the amount of appropriations may be used to fund such improvements to the program. Priority consideration for the expenditure of excess collections shall be given to those districts and programs most responsible for the excess. A plan for the use of excess collections not spent in the fiscal year in which collected shall be subject to approval by the Executive Office of the Covernor within 90 days from the end of the state fiscal year in which the excess occurs.

Section 3. This act shall take effect July 1, 2004.