ENROLLED HB 1845, Engrossed 1

2004 Legislature

A bill to be entitled

An act relating to the organization and operation of the Department of Children and Family Services; amending s. 20.19, F.S.; providing for the establishment of zones; providing that district budget transfer authority shall be as set out in the General Appropriations Act or the implementing bill; repealing s. 402.33(10), F.S., relating to the permitted uses of fee collections in excess of the amount of appropriations; providing an effective date.

Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Florida:

- Section 1. Subsection (5) of section 20.19, Florida Statutes, is amended to read:
- 20.19 Department of Children and Family Services. -- There is created a Department of Children and Family Services.
 - (5) SERVICE DISTRICTS AND ZONES. --
- (a) The department shall plan and administer its programs of family services through service districts and subdistricts composed of the following counties:
- 1. District 1.--Escambia, Santa Rosa, Okaloosa, and Walton Counties.
- 2. District 2, Subdistrict A.--Holmes, Washington, Bay, Jackson, Calhoun, and Gulf Counties.
- 3. District 2, Subdistrict B.--Gadsden, Liberty, Franklin, Leon, Wakulla, Jefferson, Madison, and Taylor Counties.
- 4. District 3.--Hamilton, Suwannee, Lafayette, Dixie, Columbia, Gilchrist, Levy, Union, Bradford, Putnam, and Alachua Counties.

Page 1 of 5

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions.

HB 1845, Engrossed 1

2004 Legislature

- 5. District 4.--Baker, Nassau, Duval, Clay, and St. Johns Counties.
 - 6. District 5.--Pasco and Pinellas Counties.
 - 7. District 6.--Hillsborough and Manatee Counties.
- 8. District 7, Subdistrict A.--Seminole, Orange, and Osceola Counties.
 - 9. District 7, Subdistrict B.--Brevard County.
- 10. District 8, Subdistrict A.--Sarasota and DeSoto Counties.
- 11. District 8, Subdistrict B.--Charlotte, Lee, Glades, Hendry, and Collier Counties.
 - 12. District 9.--Palm Beach County.
 - 13. District 10.--Broward County.
 - 14. District 11, Subdistrict A.--Miami-Dade County.
 - 15. District 11, Subdistrict B.--Monroe County.
 - 16. District 12.--Flagler and Volusia Counties.
- 17. District 13.--Marion, Citrus, Hernando, Sumter, and Lake Counties.
 - 18. District 14.--Polk, Hardee, and Highlands Counties.
- 19. District 15.--Indian River, Okeechobee, St. Lucie, and Martin Counties.
- (b)1. The secretary shall appoint a district administrator for each of the service districts. The district administrator shall serve at the pleasure of the secretary and shall perform such duties as assigned by the secretary. Subject to the approval of the secretary, such duties shall include transferring up to 10 percent of the total district budget, the provisions of ss. 216.292 and 216.351 notwithstanding.
 - 2. Any district For the 2003-2004 fiscal year only, the

Page 2 of 5

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions.

HB 1845, Engrossed 1

transfer authority related to the budget that is beyond the

provisions of chapter 216 provided in this subsection must be

specifically identified appropriated in the 2003-2004 General

Appropriations Act or its implementing bill and shall be

pursuant to the requirements of s. 216.292. This subparagraph

expires July 1, 2004.

- (c) The secretary may also establish administrative zones responsible for providing administrative support, including programmatic technical assistance, budget and financial services, data collection an information technology services, and such other duties as the secretary assigns. The zones shall be composed of the following districts and counties:
 - 1. Panhandle Zone.--
- <u>a. District 1.--Escambia, Santa Rosa, Okaloosa, and Walton</u> Counties.
- b. District 2, Subdistrict A.--Holmes, Washington, Bay, Jackson, Calhoun, and Gulf Counties.
- c. District 2, Subdistrict B.--Gadsden, Liberty, Franklin, Leon, Wakulla, Jefferson, Madison, and Taylor Counties.
 - 2. Northeast Zone.--
- <u>a. District 3.--Hamilton, Suwannee, Lafayette, Dixie, Columbia, Gilchrist, Levy, Union, Bradford, Putnam, and Alachua Counties.</u>
- <u>b.</u> District 4.--Baker, Nassau, Duval, Clay, and St. Johns Counties.
 - c. District 12.--Flagler and Volusia Counties.
 - 3. The Suncoast Zone. --
 - a. District 5.--Pasco and Pinellas Counties.
 - b. District 6.--Hillsborough and Manatee Counties.

Page 3 of 5

HB 1845, Engrossed 1

2004 Legislature

- 4. Central Zone. --
- <u>a.</u> District 7, Subdistrict A.--Seminole, Orange, and Osceola Counties.
 - b. District 7, Subdistrict B.--Brevard County.
- c. District 13.--Marion, Citrus, Hernando, Sumter, and Lake Counties.
 - d. District 14.--Polk, Hardee, and Highlands Counties.
 - 5. Southern Zone.--
- <u>a. District 8, Subdistrict A.--Sarasota and Desoto</u>
 Counties.
- <u>b.</u> District 8, Subdistrict B.--Charlotte, Lee, Glades, Hendry, and Collier Counties.
 - c. District 9.--Palm Beach County.
 - d. District 10.--Broward County.
- e. District 15.--Indian River, Okeechobee, St. Lucie, and Martin Counties.
 - 6. District 11 Zone.--
 - a. District 11, Subdistrict A.--Miami-Dade County.
 - b. District 11, Subdistrict B.--Monroe County.
- (d)(e) Each fiscal year the secretary shall, in consultation with the relevant employee representatives, develop projections of the number of child abuse and neglect cases and shall include in the department's legislative budget request a specific appropriation for funds and positions for the next fiscal year in order to provide an adequate number of full-time equivalent:
- 1. Child protection investigation workers so that caseloads do not exceed the Child Welfare League Standards by more than two cases; and

Page 4 of 5

HB 1845, Engrossed 1

2004 Legislature

2. Child protection case workers so that caseloads do not exceed the Child Welfare League Standards by more than two cases.

Section 2. Subsection (10) of section 402.33, Florida Statutes, is repealed:

402.33 Department authority to charge fees for services provided.--

(10) Unless otherwise specified by the Legislature, fee collections, including third-party reimbursements, in excess of fee-supported appropriations may be used in conformance with the provisions of chapter 216 to fund nonrecurring expenditures for direct client services and to fund administrative costs of improving the fee collection program of the department. No more than one-sixth of the amount of collections in excess of the amount of appropriations may be used to fund such improvements to the program. Priority consideration for the expenditure of excess collections shall be given to those districts and programs most responsible for the excess. A plan for the use of excess collections not spent in the fiscal year in which collected shall be subject to approval by the Executive Office of the Covernor within 90 days from the end of the state fiscal year in which the excess occurs.

Section 3. This act shall take effect July 1, 2004.