By the Committee on Transportation; and Senator Wilson

306-2208-04

A bill to be entitled 1 2 An act relating to highway designations; designating Jean-Jacques Dessalines Boulevard 3 4 in Miami-Dade County; designating Frederick 5 Douglass Boulevard in Miami-Dade County; 6 designating Alexandre Petion Boulevard in 7 Miami-Dade County; designating George Gill Boulevard in Miami-Dade County; designating 8 9 James Weldon Johnson Boulevard in Miami-Dade 10 County; designating Judge Wilkie D. Ferguson, 11 Jr. Boulevard in Miami-Dade County; 12 designating Sidney Alterman Way in Miami-Dade County; designating the L. E. Buie Memorial 13 Bridge in the City of Riviera Beach in Palm 14 Beach County; designating T. Stewart Greer 15 16 Avenue in Miami-Dade County; providing an effective date. 17 18 19 Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Florida: 20 21 Section 1. Jean-Jacques Dessalines Boulevard 22 designated; Department of Transportation to erect suitable 23 markers.--24 (1) State Road 922 on N.W. 125th Street in Miami-Dade 25 County, from N.W. 7th Avenue to Griffing Boulevard, is designated as "Jean-Jacques Dessalines Boulevard." 26 27 (2) The Department of Transportation is directed to 28 erect suitable markers designating Jean-Jacques Dessalines 29 Boulevard as described in subsection (1). 30 Section 2. Frederick Douglass Boulevard designated;

1

CODING: Words stricken are deletions; words underlined are additions.

Department of Transportation to erect suitable markers.--

1	(1) State Road 915 on N.E. 6th Avenue in Miami-Dade
2	County, from the north boundary of State House District 108 to
3	U.S. 1, is designated as "Frederick Douglass Boulevard."
4	(2) The Department of Transportation is directed to
5	erect suitable markers designating Frederick Douglass
6	Boulevard as described in subsection (1).
7	Section 3. Alexandre Petion Boulevard designation;
8	Department of Transportation to erect suitable markers
9	(1) State Road 909 on West Dixie Highway in Miami-Dade
10	County, from the north boundary of State House District 108 to
11	N.E. 2nd Avenue, is designated as "Alexandre Petion
12	Boulevard."
13	(2) The Department of Transportation is directed to
14	erect suitable markers designating Alexandre Petion Boulevard
15	as described in subsection (1).
16	Section 4. George Gill Boulevard designated;
17	Department of Transportation to erect suitable markers
18	(1) State Road 5 on Biscayne Boulevard (U.S. 1) in
19	Miami-Dade County, from the north boundary of State House
20	District 108 to the south boundary of the District, is
21	designated as "George Gill Boulevard."
22	(2) The Department of Transportation is directed to
23	erect suitable markers designating George Gill Boulevard as
24	described in subsection (1).
25	Section 5. James Weldon Johnson Boulevard designated;
26	Department of Transportation to erect suitable markers
27	(1) State Road 932 on N.W. 103rd Street in Miami-Dade
28	County, from the west boundary of State House District 108 to
29	N.E. 6th Avenue, is designated as "James Weldon Johnson
30	Boulevard."
31	

1	(2) The Department of Transportation is directed to
2	erect suitable markers designating James Weldon Johnson
3	Boulevard as described in subsection (1).
4	Section 6. Judge Wilkie D. Ferguson, Jr. Boulevard
5	designated; Department of Transportation to erect suitable
6	markers
7	(1) That portion of Honey Hill Drive in Miami-Dade
8	County, from N.W. 27th Avenue to N.W. 47th Avenue is
9	designated as "Judge Wilkie D. Ferguson, Jr. Boulevard."
10	(2) The Department of Transportation is directed to
11	erect suitable markers designating Judge Wilkie D. Ferguson,
12	Jr. Boulevard as described in subsection (1).
13	Section 7. Sidney Alterman Way designated; Department
14	of Transportation to erect suitable markers
15	(1) That portion of N.W. 42nd Avenue in Miami-Dade
16	County, from N.W. 119th Street to N.W. 135th Street is
17	designated as "Sidney Alterman Way."
18	(2) The Department of Transportation is directed to
19	erect suitable markers designating Sidney Alterman Way as
20	described in subsection (1).
21	Section 8. L. E. Buie Memorial Bridge designated;
22	Department of Transportation to erect suitable markers
23	(1) The Skypass Bridge, bridge number 930470, in the
24	City of Riviera Beach in Palm Beach County is designated as
25	the "L. E. Buie Memorial Bridge."
26	(2) The Department of Transportation is directed to
27	erect suitable markers designating the L. E. Buie Memorial
28	Bridge as described in subsection (1).
29	Section 9. T. Stewart Greer Avenue designated;
30	Department of Transportation to erect suitable markers
31	

1	(1) That portion of N.W. 27th Avenue in Miami-Dade
2	County, from N.W. 119th Street to N.W. 135th Street is
3	designated as "T. Stewart Greer Avenue."
4	(2) The Department of Transportation is directed to
5	erect suitable markers designating T. Stewart Greer Avenue as
6	described in subsection (1).
7	Section 10. This act shall take effect July 1, 2004.
8	
9	STATEMENT OF SUBSTANTIAL CHANGES CONTAINED IN COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE FOR
10	Senate Bill 1846
11	
12	The CS designates a portion of Honeyhill Drive in Miami-Dade County as Judge Wilkie D. Ferguson, Jr. Boulevard.
13	The CS designates the Skypass bridge (bridge # 930470) in the
14	City of Riviera Beach in Palm Beach County as the L.E. Buie Memorial Bridge.
15	The CS designates a portion of N.W. 27th Avenue in Miami-Dade
16	County as the T. Stewart Greer Avenue.
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23 24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	