HR 9157

1

2

3

4

5

House Resolution

A resolution honoring Stetson University College of Law, winner of the Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot.

6 WHEREAS, designed to be a multifaceted educational program 7 in the form of a competition, the Willem C. Vis International 8 Commercial Moot is in its 12th year as the world's largest 9 gathering of law schools in one place for such an event, as well 10 as the largest involving international law, and

11 WHEREAS, Stetson University College of Law, on March 18-24, 12 2005, in Vienna, Austria, became the first American law school 13 since 1996 to win the Willem C. Vis International Commercial 14 Arbitration Moot and thereupon to receive the prestigious 15 Frederic Eisemann Award, and

16 WHEREAS, the best and brightest in international commercial 17 law and arbitration gathered to judge 151 law schools from 47 18 countries, including Stetson's championship team, which 19 consisted of students Katherine Hurst, Ryan Jones, Megan 20 Schultz, Burks Smith, and Tom Yaegers, assisted by Kathryn 21 Christian on the memoranda and coached by Professors Jack Graves 22 and Stephanie Vaughan, and

WHEREAS, working together "in perfect harmony," the Stetson team defeated the University of Vienna in the final round after having won earlier elimination rounds against Columbia University, the National University of Singapore, Queen's University of Canada, and the University of Notre Dame of Australia, and

2005

HR 9157

36

WHEREAS, in view of the sterling performance of the winning team of the 2005 "Arbitral Moot," it becomes clearer as to why Stetson University College of Law is consistently ranked as one of the top advocacy law schools in the nation, NOW, THEREFORE,

34 Be It Resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of 35 Florida:

That the championship team of the 2005 Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot is congratulated upon its remarkable victory, and the members of the team are commended for their outstanding accomplishments and are extended sincere thanks for the honor and prestige they have brought to their university, their state, and their nation.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution be
presented to each member and coach of the 2005 championship team
of the Willem C. Vis International Arbitration Moot as a
tangible token of the sentiments expressed herein.

2005