HR 9063 2006

House Resolution

A resolution honoring Hillsborough County's 2005 Award Winners of the Florida Migrant Interstate Program.

WHEREAS, the Florida Migrant Interstate Program, an entity of the Florida Department of Education that annually recognizes certain individuals for their achievements as scholars or as recruiters, teachers, or administrators, has recognized five of the 2005 award winners as being from Hillsborough County, and

WHEREAS, the female Exemplary Migrant Scholar of the Year, Erica Reynoso, graduated 65th in a class of 512 at Durant High School, while taking 29 honor classes, 2 advanced placement classes, and 2 dual enrollment courses with Hillsborough Community College while tutoring middle school students and while working in the strawberry fields and the local supermarket, and

WHEREAS, the male Exemplary Migrant Scholar of the Year, Emanuel Lucas, also a Durant graduate, has worked in the fields since the age of 10; was the first migrant student at Durant to be President of the French Club; was the first to make the varsity football team while also volunteering in the community; and now attends the University of South Florida, and

WHEREAS, the Migrant Recruiter of the Year, Rogelio Villanueva, of Plant City, is active with the Redlands Christian Migrant Association and on several related committees while collecting and making accessible to migrant families information as to available housing, medical, educational, and job resources, and

HR 9063 2006

WHEREAS, the Migrant Teacher/Educator of the Year is Juanita Cannon, who has spent the past 27 years helping migrant children and families gain access to medical, health, social, and academic services provided by the School District of Hillsborough County Migrant Program, and

WHEREAS, the Migrant Administrator of the Year, Dr. Ann Cranston, oversees the College Assistance Migrant Program at the University of South Florida, which provides to migratory children financial assistance toward the completion of college, NOW, THEREFORE,

3940

29

30

3132

33

34

35

36

37

38

Be It Resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Florida:

42

43

44

45

46

47

48

49

50

41

That the House of Representatives commends Erica Reynoso, Emanuel Lucas, Rogelio Villanueva, Juanita Cannon, and Dr. Ann Cranston for their outstanding accomplishments and enthusiastically endorses the recognition by the Florida Migrant Interstate Program of these five extraordinary people.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution be presented to each award recipient as a tangible token of the sentiments expressed herein.