HR 9111 2006

House Resolution

A resolution honoring Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.

WHEREAS, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., founded December 4, 1906, at Cornell University in Ithaca, New York, is the first and oldest intercollegiate Greek-letter fraternity established for African Americans and, since its inception, has supplied voice and vision to the struggle of these Americans and other people of color around the world, and

WHEREAS, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity was founded by visionaries known as the "Seven Jewels of the Fraternity," Henry Arthur Callis, Charles Henry Chapman, Eugene Kinkle Jones, George Biddle Kelley, Nathaniel Allison Murray, Robert Harold Ogle, and Vertner Woodson Tandy, seven college men who recognized the need for a strong bond of brotherhood among African descendants in this country, and

WHEREAS, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, incorporated on January 29, 1908, initially served as a study and support group for minority students who faced racial prejudice and discrimination, both educationally and socially, and the founders and early leaders succeeded in laying a firm foundation for the fraternity's principles of scholarship, fellowship, good character, and the uplifting of humanity, and

WHEREAS, chapters of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., have been developed at other colleges and universities, many of them historically black institutions, with Jewel Charles Henry Chapman, who served as a Professor of Agriculture at Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University, aiding in the founding

HR 9111 2006

of the Beta Nu Chapter, the first African-American Greeklettered organization in the State of Florida, and

WHEREAS, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity continues to proliferate, spanning the globe with over 400 undergraduate chapters and 200 graduate chapters located throughout the United States, the Caribbean Islands, Africa, the West Indies, Europe, and Asia and, while realistically facing the educational, economic, political, and social challenges encountered by African Americans nationally and internationally, responds to such challenges by a continued emphasis on academic excellence through such mandated programs as Project Alpha, Go To High School, Go To College, and A Voteless People Is A Hopeless People, and

WHEREAS, the legacy of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity includes the Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Dr. W.E.B. DuBois, Paul Robeson, Dick Gregory, John Hope Franklin, Justice Thurgood Marshall, United States Vice President Hubert Humphrey, United States Senator Edward Brooke, Congressman Adam Clayton Powell, Jr., Congressman Julian Dixon, Congressman Ronald Dellums, Congressman Harold Ford, Sr., Duke Ellington, Lionel Richie, Jesse Owens, Marc Morial, Cornell West, and scores more, and

WHEREAS, current Alpha membership includes Congressmen
David Scott (Georgia), Chaka Fattah (Pennsylvania), Earl
Hilliard (Alabama), Charles Rangel (New York), and Robert C.
Scott (Virginia), as well as Florida leaders such as retired
Justice Leander L. Shaw, Jr., Representatives Christopher Smith
and Curtis Richardson, former Representative Alzo Reddick,
former State Senator Dr. Arnett Girardeau, and Circuit Judges

HR 9111 2006

Michael F. Andrews and Hubert L. Grimes, and, until their deaths, the late Federal District Judge Wilkie D. Ferguson and civil rights activists C. Spencer Pompey and Marvin Davies were members from this state, and

WHEREAS, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., is celebrating its Centennial Anniversary in Washington, D.C., July 25-30, 2006, to commemorate the fraternity's outstanding history of manly deeds, scholarship, and love for all of mankind, NOW, THEREFORE,

Be It Resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Florida:

That the House of Representatives honors and congratulates Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., and joins its members in Tallahassee in celebrating the admirable 100-year legacy of this outstanding fraternal organization.