By the Committee on Environmental Preservation and Conservation; and Senator Alexander

A bill to be entitled

592-2065-07

1

2 An act relating to the Southwest Florida Water 3 Management District; amending s. 373.073, F.S.; 4 increasing the number of governing board 5 members of the district; revising the residency 6 requirements for vacancies on the governing 7 board of the district; providing an effective 8 date. 9 Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Florida: 10 11 12 Section 1. Paragraph (a) of subsection (1) and 13 paragraph (e) of subsection (2) of section 373.073, Florida Statutes, are amended to read: 14 373.073 Governing board.--15 (1)(a) The governing board of each water management 16 17 district shall be composed of 9 members who shall reside 18 within the district, except that the Southwest Florida Water Management District shall be composed of 13 11 members who 19 shall reside within the district. Members of the governing 20 boards shall be appointed by the Governor, subject to 2.1 22 confirmation by the Senate at the next regular session of the 23 Legislature, and the refusal or failure of the Senate to confirm an appointment creates a vacancy in the office to 2.4 25 which the appointment was made. The term of office for a governing board member is 4 years and commences on March 2 of 26 27 the year in which the appointment is made and terminates on 2.8 March 1 of the fourth calendar year of the term or may 29 continue until a successor is appointed, but not more than 180 days. Terms of office of governing board members shall be 30 staggered to help maintain consistency and continuity in the

2

17

18

19

20

22

27

2.8

exercise of governing board duties and to minimize disruption in district operations.

- 3 (2) Membership on governing boards shall be selected 4 from candidates who have significant experience in one or more of the following areas, including, but not limited to: 5 agriculture, the development industry, local government, 7 government-owned or privately owned water utilities, law, 8 civil engineering, environmental science, hydrology, accounting, or financial businesses. Notwithstanding the 9 provisions of any other general or special law to the 10 contrary, vacancies in the governing boards of the water 11 12 management districts shall be filled according to the 13 following residency requirements, representing areas designated by the United States Water Resources Council in 14 United States Geological Survey, River Basin and Hydrological 15 Unit Map of Florida--1975, Map Series No. 72: 16
 - (e) Southwest Florida Water Management District:
 - 1. Two members shall reside in Hillsborough County.
 - 2. One member shall reside in the area consisting of Hillsborough and Pinellas Counties.
- 3. Two members shall reside in Pinellas County.
 - 4. One member shall reside in Manatee County.
- 5. Two members One member shall reside in Polk County.
- 6. One member shall reside in Pasco County.
- 7. One member shall be appointed at large from Levy,
 Marion, Citrus, Sumter, Hernando, and Lake Counties.
 - 8. One member shall be appointed at large from Sarasota, Hardee, DeSoto, Charlotte, and Highlands Counties.
- 9. One member shall be appointed at large from Levy,
 Marion, Citrus, Sumter, Hernando, Lake, Sarasota, Hardee,
 DeSoto, Charlotte, and Highlands Counties.

1	10. One member shall be appointed at large from
2	Sarasota and Charlotte Counties.
3	
4	$\underline{\mathtt{A}}$ No county described in subparagraph 7., subparagraph 8., or
5	subparagraph 9., or subparagraph 10. may not shall have more
6	than one member on the governing board.
7	Section 2. This act shall take effect upon becoming a
8	law.
9	
10	STATEMENT OF SUBSTANTIAL CHANGES CONTAINED IN COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE FOR
11	Senate Bill 1776
12	
13	Increases the number of governing board members of the Southwest Florida Water Management District from 11 to 13.
14	Requires that, at a minimum, one board member appointed at large reside in Sarasota and Charlotte Counties. Specifies that, of the 5 appointed at large members, no more than one representative from Sarasota, Charlotte, Levy, Marion, Citrus, Sumter, Hernando, Lake, Hardee, DeSoto, or Highlands counties may be on the governing board.
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	