HR 9131 2007

## House Resolution

A resolution commending the Miami Heat Basketball Team for winning the first National Basketball Association Championship in state history.

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

1

2

3

4

WHEREAS, on June 20, 2006, the Miami Heat defeated the Dallas Mavericks at Dallas, 95 to 92, in a game that showcased the team's athletic excellence and determination, and

WHEREAS, in this historic win, the Miami Heat earned the first ever National Basketball Association Championship in the history of the franchise and the State of Florida, and

WHEREAS, after losing the first two games of the National Basketball Association Finals, the Miami Heat rallied to win four games in a row, and

WHEREAS, during 11 seasons with the Miami Heat, Head Coach Pat Riley has maintained a standard of excellence exemplified by his seventh National Basketball Association championship, five as a head coach, one as an assistant coach, and one as a player, and

WHEREAS, under Head Coach Pat Reily and his coaching staff the Miami Heat, including Dwyane Wade who was named Most Valuable Player, and Derek Anderson, Shandon Anderson, Earl Barron, Michael Doleac, Udonis Haslem, Jason Kapono, Alonzo Mourning, Shaquille O'Neal, Gary Payton, James Posey, Wayne Simiene, Antoine Walker, Jason Williams, and Dorell Wright, came together to form a championship team, and

HR 9131 2007

WHEREAS, it is with great pride that the Miami Heat is recognized for the numerous accomplishments of its players, coaches, and owner Micky Arison, NOW, THEREFORE,

30 31

27

28

29

Be It Resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Florida:

3334

35

36

37

32

That that the House of Representatives salutes the Miami Heat Basketball Team for winning the 2006 National Basketball Association Championship, the first such championship in the history of the State of Florida.