By Senator King

8-03341-09 20092744

Senate Resolution

A resolution honoring and congratulating the Jacksonville University Dolphins football team on winning their first Pioneer Football League championship and participating in the program's first postseason bowl game.

WHEREAS, Jacksonville University started its intercollegiate football program in 1998 and in its first 10 years of competition the nonscholarship team enjoyed only one winning season, and

WHEREAS, under the institutional leadership of University President Dr. Kerry Romesburg and Athletics Director Alan Verlander, former University of Florida quarterback Kerwin Bell took over the reins as head coach of the Dolphins program in 2007 and suffered through a 3-8 season before leading the Dolphins to their most successful season ever in 2008, finishing with a regular season record of 9-3 overall and 7-1 in the Pioneer Football League, and

WHEREAS, on the final day of the 2008 regular season, Jacksonville University hosted the University of Dayton, the conference's defending champion, and with an amazing second half rally defeated the Flyers by a score of 19-14 before the largest crowd in the school history to win the Pioneer Football League championship, and

WHEREAS, the Dolphins were led by some outstanding individual performances in 2008, with four players earning First Team All-Conference honors, including Pioneer Football League Freshman Offensive Player of the Year Josh McGregor, four

8-03341-09 20092744

players earning places on the Second Team, seven players earning All-Conference honorable mention, and Coach Kerwin Bell being named Pioneer Football League Coach of the Year, and

WHEREAS, the 2008 conference championship earned the Dolphins their first postseason bowl game, a matchup with the State University of New York at Albany, the champion of the Northeast Conference, in the Gridiron Classic in Albany, New York, on December 6, 2008, and

WHEREAS, the team's outstanding season brought tremendous excitement and pride to the Jacksonville University campus and the entire city of Jacksonville and further exemplified the dramatic improvement in all of the university's athletic programs, from rowing and soccer to track and field and volleyball, NOW, THEREFORE,

Be It Resolved by the Senate of the State of Florida:

That the Florida Senate honors and congratulates the Jacksonville University Dolphins football team for winning their first-ever Pioneer Football League championship and participating in the program's first postseason bowl game, the Gridiron Classic, and extends its best wishes to the Dolphins football team and to the entire Jacksonville University community for continued athletic and academic success.