HR 9081 2009

House Resolution

A resolution recognizing the 2008-2009 Astronaut High School Girls' Basketball Team, winners of the Florida High School Athletic Association Class 4A State Championship.

WHEREAS, with commitment, determination, and hard work, the 2008-2009 Astronaut High School Girls' Basketball Team won the Florida High School Athletic Association Class 4A State Championship on February 28, 2009, at The Lakeland Center by beating the defending State Champions, Bishop Moore High School, by a score of 52 to 47, and

WHEREAS, on the path to claiming the State Championship title, the 2008-2009 Astronaut High School Girls' Basketball Team compiled a 25-2 season record, and

WHEREAS, outstanding skill, sportsmanship, and competitiveness have been characteristics consistently demonstrated by Lady War Eagles teammates Ashley Anderson, Melinda Brandon, Akia Davis, Amir Davis, Jenna Hostetler, Lauren Jenkins, Tiffini Lewis, Julisa Smith, Pam Walter, Deaundra Young, and Lydia Younger, and head coach Greg Hostetler, and

WHEREAS, the 2009 championship marks the third for the Astronaut High School Girls' Basketball Team, having won the Florida High School Athletic Association Class 4A State Championship in 2006 and the Class 3A State Championship in 1991, and

WHEREAS, it is with great pride that the 2008-2009 Astronaut High School Girls' Basketball Team is applauded for HR 9081 2009

the numerous accomplishments of its players and coaches, NOW, THEREFORE,

30 31

28

29

Be It Resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Florida:

3334

35

36

37

38

39

40

41

32

That the Florida House of Representatives honors the 2008-2009 Astronaut High School Girls' Basketball Team for their outstanding record and for being the 2009 Florida High School Athletic Association Class 4A State Champions.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution be presented to the 2008-2009 Astronaut High School Girls' Basketball Team as a tangible token of the sentiments expressed herein.