HR 9111 2009

House Resolution

A resolution recognizing the 2008-2009 Merritt Island High School Boys' Soccer Team, winners of the Florida High School Athletic Association Class 4A State Championship.

WHEREAS, with commitment, determination, and hard work, the 2008-2009 Merritt Island High School Boys' Soccer Team won the Florida High School Athletic Association Class 4A State Championship on February 21, 2009, at Pepin Stadium in Tampa by beating defending state champion, Allen D. Nease High School, by a score of 1 to 0 in double-overtime, and

WHEREAS, on the path to claiming the State Championship title, the 2008-2009 Merritt Island High School Boys' Soccer Team compiled a 17-2-4 season record, and

WHEREAS, outstanding skill, sportsmanship, and competitiveness have been characteristics consistently demonstrated by Mustangs teammates Ben Behrhorst, Matt Behrhorst, Ben Berry, Brad Bone, Chris Chica, Cody Daly, Sean Duble, Adam Fertig, Michael Hinds, Eric Huppert, Trevor Lewis, Tim Liston, Tyler Marshall, Aaron Mayer, Josh Mills, Jake Moore, Malcolm Mozee, Chason Spencer, Tyler Starr, Ian Stoll, Josh Strannigan, Jonathan Wagner, Christian Williams, and Tommy Williams and head coach Scooty Carey, and

WHEREAS, it is with great pride that the 2008-2009 Merritt Island High School Boys' Soccer Team is applauded for the numerous accomplishments of its players and coaches, NOW, THEREFORE,

HR 9111 2009

Be It Resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Florida:

3132

33

34

35

36

37

38

39

30

29

That the Florida House of Representatives honors the 2008-2009 Merritt Island High School Boys' Soccer Team for their outstanding record and for being the 2009 Florida High School Athletic Association Class 4A State Champions.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution be presented to the 2008-2009 Merritt Island High School Boys' Soccer Team as a tangible token of the sentiments expressed herein.