By the Committees on Military Affairs and Domestic Security; and Military Affairs and Domestic Security

583-02386-10 20101404c1

A bill to be entitled

An act relating to veterans' suicide prevention; directing the Department of Veterans' Affairs, in partnership with the Statewide Office for Suicide Prevention and the Department of Children and Family Services, to seek federal funding for a grants program that addresses veterans' outreach and suicide prevention; amending s. 14.20195, F.S.; revising the membership of the Suicide Prevention Coordinating Council to include veterans appointed by the Governor; providing an effective date.

Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Florida:

Section 1. The Department of Veterans' Affairs, in collaboration with the Statewide Office for Suicide Prevention and the Department of Children and Families Services, shall seek federal funding for veterans' outreach and suicide prevention programs and initiatives. Subject to the receipt of such funding, the Department of Veterans' Affairs shall implement and administer a veterans' outreach and suicide prevention grants program. The department may focus grant awards to those areas of the state which are considered underserved by United States Department of Veterans Affairs health care facilities and to veterans who are otherwise ineligible for health care services under the federal veterans' benefits system. Programs and initiatives awarded grants by the department must include both veterans and their families in outreach and suicide prevention efforts and coordinate their efforts with the United States

583-02386-10 20101404c1

30 Department of Veterans Affairs.

31

32

33

34

35

36

37

3839

40 41

42

43

44

45

46

47

48

49

50

51

5253

54

56

57

58

Section 2. Subsection (2) of section 14.20195, Florida Statutes, is amended to read:

14.20195 Suicide Prevention Coordinating Council; creation; membership; duties.—There is created within the Statewide Office for Suicide Prevention a Suicide Prevention Coordinating Council. The council shall develop strategies for preventing suicide.

- (2) MEMBERSHIP.—The Suicide Prevention Coordinating Council shall consist of 30 $\frac{28}{28}$ voting members.
- (a) Fourteen members shall be appointed by the director of the Office of Drug Control and shall represent the following organizations:
- 1. The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Corporation described in s. 394.655.
 - 2. The Florida Association of School Psychologists.
 - 3. The Florida Sheriffs Association.
 - 4. The Suicide Prevention Action Network USA.
 - 5. The Florida Initiative of Suicide Prevention.
 - 6. The Florida Suicide Prevention Coalition.
 - 7. The Alzheimer's Association.
 - 8. The Florida School Board Association.
 - 9. Volunteer Florida.
 - 10. The state chapter of AARP.
 - 11. The Florida Alcohol and Drug Abuse Association.
- 55 12. The Florida Council for Community Mental Health.
 - 13. The Florida Counseling Association.
 - 14. NAMI Florida.
 - (b) The following state officials or their designees shall

583-02386-10 20101404c1

serve on the coordinating council:

- 1. The Secretary of Elderly Affairs.
- 2. The State Surgeon General.
- 3. The Commissioner of Education.
- 4. The Secretary of Health Care Administration.
- 5. The Secretary of Juvenile Justice.
- 6. The Secretary of Corrections.
- 7. The executive director of the Department of Law Enforcement.
- 8. The executive director of the Department of Veterans' Affairs.
 - 9. The Secretary of Children and Family Services.
 - 10. The director of the Agency for Workforce Innovation.
- (c) The Governor shall appoint <u>six</u> four additional members to the coordinating council. <u>At least four of</u> the appointees must have expertise that is critical to the prevention of suicide or represent an organization that is not already represented on the coordinating council. <u>At least two of the appointees must be veterans</u>, of whom one must be currently enrolled as a student.
- (d) For the members appointed by the director of the Office of Drug Control, seven members shall be appointed to initial terms of 3 years, and seven members shall be appointed to initial terms of 4 years. For the members appointed by the Governor, two members shall be appointed to initial terms of 4 years, and two members shall be appointed to initial terms of 3 years. Thereafter, such members shall be appointed to terms of 4 years. Any vacancy on the coordinating council shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointment, and any member

88

89

90 91

92

9394

95

96

97

9899

583-02386-10 20101404c1

who is appointed to fill a vacancy occurring because of death, resignation, or ineligibility for membership shall serve only for the unexpired term of the member's predecessor. A member is eligible for reappointment.

- (e) The director of the Office of Drug Control shall be a nonvoting member of the coordinating council and shall act as chair.
- (f) Members of the coordinating council shall serve without compensation. Any member of the coordinating council who is a public employee is entitled to reimbursement for per diem and travel expenses as provided in s. 112.061.

Section 3. This act shall take effect July 1, 2010.