Florida Senate - 2011                            (NP)    SR 2214
       By Senator Latvala
       16-05267-11                                           20112214__
    1                          Senate Resolution                        
    2         A resolution recognizing the Florida State Lodge,
    3         Fraternal Order of Police, on the occasion of the 29th
    4         Annual Florida Law Enforcement Memorial Service and
    5         paying tribute to those who gave their lives in the
    6         line of duty.
    8         WHEREAS, the mission of the Florida State Lodge, Fraternal
    9  Order of Police, includes promoting impartial enforcement of the
   10  law and enhancing the efficiency of the police profession in
   11  order to increase the confidence of the public in members of the
   12  profession, and
   13         WHEREAS, the Florida State Lodge, Fraternal Order of
   14  Police, annually recognizes Florida law enforcement officers and
   15  federal officers assigned to Florida who are killed in the line
   16  of duty, and
   17         WHEREAS, the annual memorial service of the Florida State
   18  Lodge, Fraternal Order of Police, is held at the Florida Law
   19  Enforcement Memorial Monument, which is located on the grounds
   20  of the Florida Capitol and contains the names of fallen law
   21  enforcement officers, and
   22         WHEREAS, on May 2, 2011, the Florida State Lodge, Fraternal
   23  Order of Police, will honor these officers who died in 2010:
   24  Wesley Richard Whitmore, Jr., Polk County Sheriff’s Office;
   25  Brandon L. Coates, Orange County Sheriff’s Office; Mark A.
   26  Longway, Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office; David L. Curtis
   27  and Jeffrey A. Kocab, Tampa Police Department; Melissa J.
   28  Powers, Monroe County Sheriff’s Office; Patrick Ambroise,
   29  Florida Highway Patrol; Chad A. Reed, Sr., Dixie County
   30  Sheriff’s Office; and James Louis Anderson, St. Johns County
   31  Sheriff’s Office, and
   32         WHEREAS, these special men and women were dedicated to the
   33  protection of life and property and sacrificed their lives for
   34  their communities and for all Floridians, NOW, THEREFORE,
   36  Be It Resolved by the Senate of the State of Florida:
   38         That the members of the Senate pay tribute to Wesley
   39  Richard Whitmore, Jr., Brandon L. Coates, Mark A. Longway, David
   40  L. Curtis, Jeffrey A. Kocab, Melissa J. Powers, Patrick
   41  Ambroise, Chad A. Reed, Sr., and James Louis Anderson and convey
   42  our deepest sympathy to their families, friends, and colleagues
   43  on the occasion of the 29th Annual Florida Law Enforcement
   44  Memorial Service.