House Resolution

A resolution honoring the Phi Theta Kappa 2013 All-Florida Academic Team.

WHEREAS, April 9, 2013, "Florida Phi Theta Kappa Day," is an appropriate time for the Legislature to recognize and salute Phi Theta Kappa, the esteemed international honor society for state, community, and junior colleges, and

WHEREAS, the Florida College System assembled a group of 125 successful college students from the Florida College System and two private institutions, Florida College and Keiser University, to be named the 2013 All-Florida Academic Team, and

WHEREAS, based on the national ranking of these students in the All-USA Academic Team competition sponsored by USA Today and Phi Theta Kappa, which is recognized internationally, nationally, and in the State of Florida as the primary college organization for the recognition of academic achievement, leadership, and service to the community, the following students comprise the 2013 All-Florida Academic Team:

Brenda Acevedo, Florida Gateway College; Naimah Alamin, Indian River State College; Juan Alderete, Broward College; Rachel Andrews, Pensacola State College; Amanda Arce, Hillsborough Community College; Frederick Ashby, Seminole State College of Florida; Angela Bardwell-Owens, Valencia College; Alexandria Beasley, College of Central Florida; Stacey Bowcott, Lake-Sumter State College; Garrett Bremer, Hillsborough Community College; Jessica Britt Viera, Seminole State College of Florida; Dawn

Page 1 of 5

29 Brooks, Keiser University; Jessica Brown, St. Johns River State 30 College; Kristen Brown, St. Petersburg College; Richard Brown, Lake-Sumter State College; Susan Cabrera, Hillsborough Community 31 32 College; Diane Castillo, Seminole State College of Florida; Lisa 33 Charney, St. Johns River State College; Craig Corlis, St. 34 Petersburg College; Casey Covel, Brevard Community College; 35 Jennifer Creamer-White, Pasco-Hernando Community College; Alivia 36 Dandurand, Brevard Community College; Maria Lourdes De Las 37 Cuevas, Miami Dade College; Rosendo De Vicente, Miami Dade 38 College; Rafael Diaz, Miami Dade College; Justin Donakowski, 39 Lake-Sumter State College; Jodian Dunann, Broward College; 40 Kemone Eldridge, Indian River State College; Cameron Felski, 41 Brevard Community College; Elizabeth Fernandez, Miami Dade 42 College; Jessica Figueroa, Broward College; Vanessa Fleites, Miami Dade College; Brandon Fong, St. Petersburg College; 43 44 Fiorella Gallo, Seminole State College of Florida; Christine 45 Gambino, State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota; Brett 46 Gernertt, Daytona State College; Nicole Gomez, College of 47 Central Florida; Samantha Gross, Daytona State College; Brittany 48 Haas, Indian River State College; William Hammontree, Florida College; Tara Hazel, Indian River State College; Madeline Heath, 49 50 State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota; Cameron Henry, Florida Keys Community College; Jennifer Hill, Pensacola State 51 52 College; Catrina Hopkins, St. Petersburg College; Andres 53 Hortensi, Miami Dade College; Blakelyn Hoyt, St. Johns River 54 State College; Catherine Hudson, St. Johns River State College; 55 Terrencia Iles, Pasco-Hernando Community College; Katrina 56 Jammer, Northwest Florida State College; Diana Jarrard,

Page 2 of 5

57 Hillsborough Community College; Jessica Johnston, Pasco-Hernando 58 Community College; Jacob Jordan, South Florida State College; 59 Sherry Katheren, College of Central Florida; Austin Kercheville, 60 Florida College; Tecla Kindschi, Brevard Community College; 61 Eunmi Ko, St. Petersburg College; Connie Koehler, Indian River 62 State College; Stephanie Kupiec, Palm Beach State College; Erica 63 Laboissoniere, Santa Fe College; Andrew Land, North Florida 64 Community College; Stephanie Lansford, Florida Gateway College; 65 Julia Lashure, Broward College; Karen Lewandowski, Hillsborough 66 Community College; Charlene Maine, Daytona State College; Mahru 67 Malekiha, Miami Dade College; Mahsa Malekiha, Miami Dade College; Alexander Manjarres, Polk State College; Monica 68 69 Manjarres, Polk State College; Amanda Mazzella, Brevard 70 Community College; Morgan McLaughlin, Northwest Florida State 71 College; William McNair, Northwest Florida State College; 72 McKenzie Merritt, Indian River State College; Christones Michel, 73 Miami Dade College; Kimberly Miller, Edison State College; Steve 74 Minciulescu, Daytona State College; Gustavo Monaco Berta, Indian 75 River State College; Michelle Morales-Pineda, Valencia College; 76 Jeffrey Morris, Broward College; Jessica Mueller, Edison State 77 College; Christopher Naulty, Brevard Community College; Thao 78 Nguyen, Hillsborough Community College; Jessica Ocariz, Miami 79 Dade College; Lidia O'Shields, State College of Florida, 80 Manatee-Sarasota; Richard Parada, Seminole State College of 81 Florida; Hinesha Patel, Daytona State College; Tiffany Perez, 82 Valencia College; Adriana Perez-Leyva, Miami Dade College; 83 Bryana Perkins, Pasco-Hernando Community College; Selena Phillips, North Florida Community College; Thomas Luke Pittman, 84

Page 3 of 5

HR 9049 2013

85	Valencia College; Johanna Poblano, Palm Beach State College;
86	Sarah Power, Santa Fe College; Kamal Qumbargi, Indian River
87	State College; Mc Harry Ramos, South Florida State College;
88	Kristen Richard, Northwest Florida State College; Lisa Rios,
89	Gulf Coast State College; Steven Rivadeneira, Miami Dade
90	College; Andres Roque, Miami Dade College; Jessica Roubert,
91	Pasco-Hernando Community College; Brian Rushing, Hillsborough
92	Community College; Olben Saint Fleur, Indian River State
93	College; Sara Sanchez, Miami Dade College; Duane Santana,
94	Florida State College at Jacksonville; Nicole Schuyler,
95	Hillsborough Community College; Gisella Segarra, Broward
96	College; Kelly Simms, College of Central Florida; Laura Stevens,
97	Palm Beach State College; Lisa Stevens, St. Petersburg College;
98	Kim Stingo, Palm Beach State College; Elizabeth Strople, Daytona
99	State College; Stephanie Summers, Indian River State College;
100	James Thermidor, Edison State College; Maria Thurber, St.
101	Petersburg College; Kaylee Toole, Chipola College; Marsha
102	Vickers, St. Johns River State College; Natassia Wakey, State
103	College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota; John Whittington, Chipola
104	College; Darrin Williams, Hillsborough Community College; Jacob
105	Wilson, Polk State College; Ashley Young, Hillsborough Community
106	College; Shantel Young, Brevard Community College; Ying Zhang,
107	Lake-Sumter State College; Dora Zion, Gulf Coast State College;
108	and Jenna Zuyus, Daytona State College, and
109	WHEREAS, each member of the 2013 All-Florida Academic Team
110	has demonstrated impressive intellect and leadership and a
111	determination to achieve academic excellence, and

WHEREAS, because of their praiseworthy and devoted efforts,
the members of the Phi Theta Kappa All-Florida Academic Team
have earned, for themselves and their academic institutions, the
respect and admiration of the House of Representatives of the
State of Florida and of the residents of this state, NOW,
THEREFORE.

Be It Resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Florida:

That Phi Theta Kappa, the Florida College System, and the members of the 2013 All-Florida Academic Team are congratulated and the team members are commended for the outstanding competitive spirit and ability evidenced by their accomplishments.