By Senator Dean

5-00236-15 20151580

Senate Resolution

A resolution recognizing Jayne Ellspermann, principal of West Port High School in Marion County, as the 2015 National Principal of the Year.

WHEREAS, throughout her career, Jayne Ellspermann has demonstrated her commitment to excellence in Florida's education system and in the classrooms of Marion County, and

WHEREAS, in 2014, Jayne Ellspermann was selected as the Florida Association of School Administrators' Principal of the Year, and

WHEREAS, Jayne Ellspermann has served as principal at West Port High School for 10 years and in that time has led the school from being one of the lowest performing high schools in the county to the highest achieving, and

WHEREAS, principals and assistant principals are entrusted with the lives of young people, Florida's most valuable asset, and their work encompasses educational vision, instructional leadership, assessment expertise, even-handed discipline, community building, public relations skill, budget analysis, facility management, special program administration, and guardianship of various legal, contractual, and policy mandates and initiatives, and

WHEREAS, Jayne Ellspermann sets the academic tone for her school and works collaboratively with teachers and the community to develop and maintain high curriculum standards, set performance goals and objectives, and direct oversight of groundbreaking initiatives, and

WHEREAS, Jayne Ellspermann's vision, dedication, and

30

31

32

33

34

3536

37

383940

4142

43

44

45

5-00236-15 20151580

determination mobilize her school reform effort and have transformed West Port High School into a high school that fosters the development of college- and career-ready students, and

WHEREAS, Jayne Ellspermann's selection as 2015 National Principal of the Year by the National Association of Secondary School Principals is a tribute to her leadership and to her heartfelt belief that each student in the United States should be provided access to high-quality education, NOW, THEREFORE,

Be It Resolved by the Senate of the State of Florida:

That we honor and recognize West Port High School Principal Jayne Ellspermann and celebrate her selection by the National Association of Secondary School Principals as the 2015 National Principal of the Year.