Florida Senate - 2019 Bill No. CS for SB 100

442966

576-03006-19

Proposed Committee Substitute by the Committee on Appropriations (Appropriations Subcommittee on Transportation, Tourism, and Economic Development)

A bill to be entitled
An act relating to transportation facility
designations; providing honorary designations of
certain transportation facilities in specified
counties; directing the Department of Transportation
to erect suitable markers; providing an effective
date.

Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Florida:

Section 1. Transportation facility designations; Department of Transportation to erect suitable markers.-

(1) That portion of I-75 (26260000) between mile markers 399 and 404 in Alachua County is designated as the "Sergeant William T. Bishop Memorial Highway."

(2) That portion of I-10 (27090000) between mile markers 327 and 332 in Baker County is designated as the "Trooper Sherman L. Scott, Jr., Memorial Highway."

19 (3) That portion of Babcock Street (70012000) between 20 Malabar Road and Palm Bay Road in Brevard County is designated as the "Trooper Joseph Sawtell, Jr., Memorial Highway." 21 22 (4) That portion of U.S. 1 (70030000) between E. Main 23 Street and Parrish Road in Brevard County is designated as the

24 "Trooper Halley Strickland Memorial Highway."

25 (5) That portion of I-95 (86070000) between the N.E. 48th 26 Street overpass and S.W. 10th Street in Broward County is

1 2 3

4

5

6

7

8 9

442966

i	
27	designated as the "Trooper Phillip Black and Corporal Donald
28	Irwin Memorial Highway."
29	(6) That portion of I-75 (03175000) between mile markers
30	100 and 102 in Collier County is designated as the "Trooper
31	Lindell J. Gibbons Memorial Highway."
32	(7) That portion of I-75 (29180000) between mile markers
33	418 and 423 in Columbia County is designated as the "Sergeant
34	George A. Brown, III, Memorial Highway."
35	(8) That portion of U.S. 19 (30010000) between C.R. 351A
36	and S.W. 307th Avenue in Dixie County is designated as the
37	"Patrolman Royston E. Walker Memorial Highway."
38	(9) That portion of U.S. 90 (72010000) between Yellow Water
39	Road and Log Road in Duval County is designated as the "Trooper
40	Robert P. McDermon Memorial Highway."
41	(10) That portion of U.S. 301 (72140000) between U.S. 90
42	and Summer Field Lane in Duval County is designated as the
43	"Trooper Edwin J. Gasque Memorial Highway."
44	(11) That portion of U.S. 29/S.R. 95 (48040000) between
45	Neal Road and Nine Mile Road in Escambia County is designated as
46	the "Trooper Milan D. Hendrix Memorial Highway."
47	(12) The interchange on I-10 (55320023) at U.S. 90/S.R.
48	10/Mahan Drive in Leon County is designated as the "Trooper
49	William 'Bill' H. Dyer Memorial Interchange."
50	(13) That portion of U.S. 41 (13121000) between Tallevast
51	Road in Manatee County and the Sarasota County line is
52	designated as the "Sergeant John C. Baxter, Jr., Memorial
53	Highway."
54	(14) That portion of I-75 (36210000) between mile markers
55	340 and 344 in Marion County is designated as the "Trooper
1	

442966

56	Chelsea Richard Memorial Highway."
57	(15) That portion of U.S. 1/S.R. 5 (87020000) between the
58	Homestead Extension of Florida's Turnpike/S.R. 821 and S.W.
59	216th Street in Miami-Dade County is designated as the "Trooper
60	Luther P. Daniel Memorial Highway."
61	(16) That portion of the Homestead Extension of Florida's
62	Turnpike/S.R. 821 (87471000) between mile markers 13 and 16 in
63	Miami-Dade County is designated as the "Trooper Alvin V. Kohler
64	Memorial Highway."
65	(17) That portion of S.R. 836 (87200000) between N.W. 12th
66	Avenue and N.W. 27th Avenue in Miami-Dade County is designated
67	as the "Trooper Bradley S. Glascock Memorial Highway."
68	(18) That portion of S.R. 836 (87200000) between N.W. 42nd
69	Avenue and N.W. 72nd Avenue in Miami-Dade County is designated
70	as the "Trooper Elmer C. Barnett Memorial Highway."
71	(19) The interchange at I-195 and S.R. 907/Alton Road in
72	Miami-Dade County is designated as the "Trooper Owen K. Bender
73	Memorial Interchange."
74	(20) That portion of U.S. 441 between Landstreet Road and
75	Taft Vineland Road in Orange County is designated as the
76	"Trooper Richard Howell Memorial Highway."
77	(21) That portion of S.R. 91/Florida's Turnpike (93470000)
78	between mile markers 100 and 105 in Palm Beach County is
79	designated as the "Troopers Herman T. Morris and Frederick J.
80	Groves, Jr., Memorial Highway."
81	(22) That portion of I-4 (16320000) between mile markers 36
82	and 44 in Polk County is designated as the "Trooper John C.
83	Hagerty Memorial Highway."
84	(23) That portion of W. 1st Street (77030000) between

442966

85	French Avenue and S. Mellonville Avenue in Seminole County is
86	designated as the "Patrolman Leroy Bender Memorial Highway."
87	(24) That portion of I-95 (78080000) between mile markers
88	332 and 327 in St. Johns County is designated as the "Trooper
89	Wilburn A. Kelly Memorial Highway."
90	(25) That portion of U.S. 1 (78010000) between S.R. 207 and
91	the Matanzas River in St. Johns County is designated as the
92	"Troopers Merle J. Cook, Robert L. Pruitt, and Cleo L.
93	Tomlinson, Jr., Memorial Highway."
94	(26) That portion of I-75 (12075000) between mile markers
95	130 and 133 in Lee County is designated as the "Lieutenant
96	Daniel Hinton Memorial Highway."
97	(27) That portion of N. Century Boulevard/U.S. 29
98	(48060000) between Cox Road and Sigler Road in Escambia County
99	is designated as the "Maceo Perkins Parkway."
100	(28) Upon completion of construction, the interchange at
101	the Homestead Extension of Florida's Turnpike/S.R. 821 and N.W.
102	170th Street in Miami-Dade County is designated as the
103	"Countyline Parkway."
104	(29) The intersection of S.W. 8th Street and S.W. 14th
105	Avenue in Miami-Dade County is designated as the "Manuel A.
106	Gonzalez Plaza."
107	(30) That portion of S.R. AlA between Bridge Road and
108	Fountain Street in Miami-Dade County is designated as the
109	"Robert L. Shevin Way."
110	(31) That portion of S.W. 1st Avenue/S.R. 968 between 21st
111	Avenue and 20th Avenue in Miami-Dade County is designated as the
112	"Jorge P. Castano Way."
113	(32) Upon completion of construction, the interchange at I-

442966

114	95 and S.R. 200 in Nassau County is designated as the "Fallen
115	Hero Specialist Kelly J. Mixon Interchange."
116	(33) That portion of U.S. 19/S.R. 57 between Capps in
117	Jefferson County and the northern Jefferson County line is
118	designated as the "Sheriff David C. Hobbs Memorial Highway."
119	(34) The bridge on U.S. Highway 98 over the Econfina River
120	in Taylor County is designated as "SSGT Edward C. Sheffield
121	Memorial Bridge."
122	(35) That portion of the Coast to Coast Connector in
123	Brevard County is designated as the "Kurt Eichin Memorial
124	Trail."
125	(36) That portion of South Street between U.S. 1 and S.R.
126	50 in Brevard County is designated as "Martin Luther King, Jr.,
127	Boulevard."
128	(37) Bridge number 429958 on S.R. 842/Broward Boulevard at
129	North Fork New River in Broward County is designated as the
130	"Senator Christopher L. Smith Bridge."
131	(38) That portion of I-75 (Alligator Alley) in Broward
132	County between mile markers 23 and 27 is designated as the
133	"Sergeant Steven G. Greco Memorial Highway."
134	(39) That portion of N.W. 53rd Street between Hiatus Road
135	and N.W. 103rd Avenue in Broward County is designated as "Edith
136	Lederberg Lane."
137	(40) That portion of 37th Avenue between N.W. 11th Street
138	and N.W. 2nd Street in Miami-Dade County is designated as
139	"Florence Hecht Lane."
140	(41) The Department of Transportation is directed to erect
141	suitable markers designating the transportation facilities as
142	described in this section.

PROPOSED COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE

Florida Senate - 2019 Bill No. CS for SB 100

442966

576-03006-19

143

Section 2. This act shall take effect July 1, 2019.