By Senator Rouson

19-00634-20 2020368

A bill to be entitled

An act relating to the Tampa Bay Area Regional Transit Authority; amending s. 343.92, F.S.; authorizing certain mayors who are members of the governing board of the Tampa Bay Area Regional Transit Authority to appoint a designee to attend a board meeting to act in his or her place with full voting rights on all issues; requiring the designee to be an elected official of the governing body of the mayor's municipality; providing that a certain number of board members constitutes a quorum whether those members attend physically, telephonically, or electronically; providing an effective date.

Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Florida:

- Section 1. Paragraph (b) of subsection (2) and subsection (8) of section 343.92, Florida Statutes, are amended to read: 343.92 Tampa Bay Area Regional Transit Authority.—
- (2) The governing board of the authority shall consist of 13 voting members appointed no later than 45 days after the creation of the authority.
 - (b) The 13 voting members of the board shall be as follows:
- 1. The county commissions of Hernando, Hillsborough, Manatee, Pasco, and Pinellas Counties shall each appoint one county commissioner to the board. Members appointed under this subparagraph shall serve 2-year terms with not more than three consecutive terms being served by any person. If a member under this subparagraph leaves elected office, a vacancy exists on the

19-00634-20 2020368

board to be filled as provided in this subparagraph within 90 days.

- 2. Two members of the board shall be the mayor of the largest municipality within the service area of each of the following independent transit agencies or their legislatively created successor agencies: Pinellas Suncoast Transit Authority and Hillsborough Area Regional Transit Authority. The largest municipality is that municipality with the largest population as determined by the most recent United States Decennial Census. If a mayor under this subparagraph is unable to attend a meeting, the mayor may appoint a designee to attend the meeting to act in his or her place with full voting rights on all issues. The designee must be an elected official of the governing body of the mayor's municipality.
- 3. The following independent transit agencies or their legislatively created successor agencies shall each appoint from the membership of their governing bodies one member to the board: Pinellas Suncoast Transit Authority and Hillsborough Area Regional Transit Authority. Each member appointed under this subparagraph shall serve a 2-year term with not more than three consecutive terms being served by any person. If a member no longer meets the transit authority's criteria for appointment, a vacancy exists on the board, which must be filled as provided in this subparagraph within 90 days.
- 4. The Governor shall appoint to the board four members from the regional business community, each of whom must reside in one of the counties governed by the authority and may not be an elected official. Of the members initially appointed under this subparagraph, one shall serve a 1-year term, two shall

19-00634-20 2020368

serve 2-year terms, and one shall serve a term as the initial chair as provided in subsection (5). Thereafter, a member appointed under this subparagraph shall serve a 2-year term with not more than three consecutive terms being served by any person.

Appointments may be staggered to avoid mass turnover at the end of any 2-year or 4-year period. A vacancy during a term shall be filled within 90 days in the same manner as the original appointment for the remainder of the unexpired term.

(8) Seven members of the board, whether in attendance physically, telephonically, or electronically, shall constitute a quorum, and the vote of seven members is necessary for any action to be taken by the authority. The authority may meet upon the constitution of a quorum. A vacancy does not impair the right of a quorum of the board to exercise all rights and the ability to perform all duties of the authority.

Section 2. This act shall take effect July 1, 2020.