The Florida Senate HOUSE MESSAGE SUMMARY

Prepared By: The Professional Staff of the Committee on Transportation	
BILL:	[2025s01662.hms.tr.docx] CS/CS/CS/SB 1662, Engrossed 1
INTRODUCER:	Appropriations Committee; Appropriations Committee on Transportation, Tourism, and Economic Development; Transportation Committee; and Senator Collins
SUBJECT:	Transportation
DATE:	April 29, 2025

I.Amendments Contained in Message:

House Amendment – 160395 (body with title)

II.Summary of Amendments Contained in Message:

House Amendment – 160395 requires any seaport located in a county with a spaceport territory to provide, in any agreement with the Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT), that it agrees not to convert facilities that support space-related (cargo) purposes to any other purpose unless such conversion is approved by the seaport's governing board. The amendment also requires that the Legislature expressly approve the use of state funds for such conversion either through a work program amendment or in the General Appropriations Act.

The amendment removes a provision from the bill prohibiting FDOT from expending state funds to support projects or programs of public transit providers, regional transportation-related authorities, public use airports, or seaports, if such entities adopt or promote energy policy goals inconsistent with the energy policy of the state. The amendment also removes a related provision in the bill requiring FDOT-funded aviation projects to be consistent with the energy policy of the state.

The amendment requires FDOT to include with work program-related information submitted to legislative appropriations committees, a report identifying any public transit provider, regional transportation-related authority, public use airport, or seaport, that it determines has adopted or promoted energy policy goals inconsistent with the energy policy of the state.

The amendment removes from the bill a provision creating the rural transit operating block grant program.

The amendment clarifies that the four members of the governing body of the Jacksonville Transportation Authority appointed by the Governor must include one member each from Duval, Clay, St. Johns, and Nassau counties.