Skip to Navigation | Skip to Main Content | Skip to Site Map | Archives | Mobile Site

Senate Tracker: Sign Up | Login

Senator Albritton, District 26 — Press Release


November 3, 2017

CONTACT: Anne Bell, (863) 679-4847


Lake Wales —

State Senators Denise Grimsley (R-Lake Placid) and Kelli Stargel (R-Lakeland) today announced that they have filed Senate Bill 748 for the 2018 Legislative Session creating the “Back-the-Blue Law Enforcement Assistance Program" to provide state grant assistance to benefit local law enforcement agencies in Florida. 

“We have a compelling statewide interest in public safety,” said Grimsley. “Sheriffs, police chiefs and law enforcement continue to communicate their needs for training, facilities and a range of equipment to help them accomplish their missions and protect Floridians.”

The Back-the-Blue Law Enforcement Assistance Program provides a mechanism for the legislature to offer a broad-based supplemental funding method, to be administered by the Florida Department of Law Enforcement, in a comprehensive, transparent process.

“I am honored to support our law enforcement this with ‘Back-the-Blue’ legislation. Our law enforcement officers provide valuable services to our community, all while keeping us safe,” said Senator Stargel. “This proposal will give them the resources they need to continue their good work.”

“Our law enforcement officers need all of the support we can provide them,” said Senator Grimsley. “I can’t think of a better way to ‘Back the Blue’ than by giving them the resources they need to keep us safe.”

The 2018 Legislative Session begins Tuesday, January 9, 2018.  Senator Grimsley represents Senate District 26, which consists of DeSoto, Glades, Hardee, Highlands, Okeechobee, and parts of Charlotte, Lee, and Polk counties. She also served in the Florida House of Representatives from 2004-2012 and was elected to the Florida Senate in 2012. 

Senator Stargel represents Senate District 22, which consists of parts of Polk and Lake Counties. She served in the Florida House of Representatives from 2008-2012 and was elected to the Florida Senate in 2012.