Skip to Navigation | Skip to Main Content | Skip to Site Map | Mobile Site

Senate Tracker: Sign Up | Login

The Florida Senate

CS/CS/CS/HB 785 — Stroke Centers

by Health and Human Services Committee: Health Care Appropriations Subcommittee; Health Quality Subcommittee; and Rep. Magar and others (CS/CS/SB 1406 by Appropriations Committee; Health Policy Committee; and Senators Powell, Passidomo, and Baxley)

This summary is provided for information only and does not represent the opinion of any Senator, Senate Officer, or Senate Office.

Prepared by: Health Policy Committee (HP)

The bill requires the Agency for Health Care Administration (AHCA) to add “acute ready stroke center” as a new entry in the types of stroke centers that is made available to licensed emergency medical services providers. The bill removes language instructing the AHCA to base stroke center rules on criteria established solely by the Joint Commission and requires rule criteria to be substantially similar to any nationally recognized accrediting organization.

The Department of Health (DOH) is directed to contract with a private entity to establish and maintain a statewide stroke registry, subject to the availability of funds. The contract provider must use a nationally recognized platform to collect data on nationally recognized stroke performance measures and provide regular reports to the DOH. Each stroke center is required to regularly report to the statewide stroke registry information specified by the DOH. The bill provides that the registry’s purpose is to ensure that the data are maintained and available to improve or modify the stroke care system, ensure compliance with standards, and monitor stroke patient outcomes. The bill provides that no liability of any kind shall be created or enforced against any acute ready stroke center, primary stroke center, or comprehensive stroke center by reason of having provided such information to the statewide stroke registry.

If approved by the Governor, these provisions take effect July 1, 2017.

Vote: Senate 37-0; House 117-0