Skip to Navigation | Skip to Main Content | Skip to Site Map | Mobile Site

Senate Tracker: Sign Up | Login

The Florida Senate

2004 Florida Statutes

Division of counties into districts; county commissioners.
Section 124.01, Florida Statutes 2004

124.01  Division of counties into districts; county commissioners.--

(1)  There shall be five county commissioners' districts in each county, which shall be numbered one to five, inclusive, and shall be as nearly equal in proportion to population as possible.

(2)  There shall be one county commissioner for each of such county commissioners' districts, who shall be elected by the qualified electors of the county, as provided by s. 1(e), Art. VIII of the State Constitution.

(3)  The board of county commissioners shall from time to time, fix the boundaries of the above districts so as to keep them as nearly equal in proportion to population as possible; provided, that changes made in the boundaries of county commissioner districts pursuant to this section shall be made only in odd-numbered years.

(4)  County commissioners' districts now existing shall remain as now constituted until changed by the board of county commissioners, as provided by the constitution and in this chapter.

(5)  This section shall not apply to Dade County.

History.--ss. 1, 2, ch. 3723, 1887; RS 573; GS 765; RGS 1469; CGL 2147; s. 1, ch. 24108, 1947; s. 1, ch. 59-459; s. 8, ch. 69-216.