Skip to Navigation | Skip to Main Content | Skip to Site Map | Mobile Site

Senate Tracker: Sign Up | Login

The Florida Senate

Majority Office — Press Release


November 23, 2020

CONTACT: Lisa Kauffman, 850-487-5750

Statement from Majority Leader Debbie Mayfield on Appointment as the 2020-2022 Republican Leader

Tallahassee —

Florida Senate Majority Leader Debbie Mayfield (R-Melbourne) today released the following statement regarding her appointment by President Wilton Simpson (R-Trilby) as Republican Leader for the 2020-2022 Legislative Term.

“It is a tremendous honor to serve the Florida Senate as your 2020-2022 Republican Leader. Thank you to President Simpson for entrusting me with this great responsibility.  

“We will continue to advance conservative policies, invest in Florida’s water quality and protect our vulnerable populations.

“The ongoing pandemic has impacted each of us, our families and our businesses. The road ahead is a difficult one, but I’m confident that together we can pass strategic and bold measures to deliver relief and recovery to Floridians and ensure our state economy prospers once again.”

Majority Leader Mayfield was elected to the Florida Senate in 2016, and reelected subsequently. Most recently, she served as Chair of the Appropriations Subcommittee on Agriculture, Environment, and General Government. Previously, Leader Mayfield served in the Florida House of Representatives from 2008 to 2016.