Skip to Navigation | Skip to Main Content | Skip to Site Map | Mobile Site

Senate Tracker: Sign Up | Login

The Florida Senate

Minority Office — Press Release


November 16, 2020

CONTACT: Michelle DeMarco, 850.487.5833

Senator Gary Farmer Unanimously Elected Senate Democratic Leader

Prominent advocate for consumer rights and protections takes helm for 2020-2022 legislative term

Tallahassee —

State Senator Gary M. Farmer, Jr. (D-Lighthouse Point), a prominent legal advocate for the rights and protections of consumers in Florida, has been unanimously elected Leader of the Senate Democratic Caucus for the 2020-2022 legislative term. The Caucus also elected Senator Bobby Powell, Jr., of West Palm Beach, as its Leader Pro Tempore. 

“When I decided to run for office four years ago, I did so primarily to provide a voice in Tallahassee for those who may feel that they've been left behind, those workers and those families who may have lost their faith in a political process that wasn't addressing the issues important to them,” said Leader Farmer. “Whether it is affordable healthcare for all, a quality education for every student, equal rights regardless of race, gender, sexual orientation or religious affiliation, or just fairness, equality and justice in all our laws, I am humbled and honored to help raise up our voices on these core, fundamental principles of our party.”    

A trial attorney for the past two decades, Leader Farmer has been at the forefront of high-profile consumer litigation in Florida, including health care coverage rights and injuries suffered by consumers and employees due to deceptive marketing and trade practices. He litigated the infamous “Butterfly Ballot” during the contentious 2000 Presidential Election, and absentee voting cases to the Florida Supreme Court, and was recently lead counsel in some of the country’s largest qui tam recoveries. He also served as a past president of the Florida Justice Association, the state’s largest consumer protection organization. 

Leader Farmer was first elected to the Senate in 2016, and re-elected in 2018. His leadership team for the 2020-2022 legislative term will consist of:

Rules Chair: Senator Perry Thurston

Whip: Senator Lauren Book

Whip: Senator Victor Torres

Whip: Senator Annette Taddeo

Policy Chair: Senator Lori Berman

Fiscal Policy Chair: Senator Janet Cruz